PDA

View Full Version : SWF file wont display!


splewington
06-11-2011, 12:59 PM
Hi all,

I've recently taken over administration of the website for the youth football team that my son plays for. I'm updating content in Dreamweaver CS3 but since I have updated pages, saved them and uploaded them the Flash header that used to display is now not displaying on the pages I have updated. I have only updated content, not the structure of the page itself.

Here is an example of a page that isnt displaying properly: http://www.astonclintoncolts.org.uk/

and one that is:
http://www.astonclintoncolts.org.uk/club_policies.html

Any guidance anyone can give this novice would be very much appreciated!

gentleone
06-11-2011, 04:01 PM
If you go into code view delete the following... it's underneath your CSS styles.

</head>
</html>
G
<html>
<head>

splewington
06-11-2011, 10:48 PM
Thanks gentleone, just tried that and its still the same problems here - http://www.astonclintoncolts.org.uk/

gentleone
06-12-2011, 08:32 AM
In your AC_FL_RunContent you load the swf file but without the .swf extension.
'images/flash/mainheader'
should be:
'images/flash/mainheader.swf'

splewington
06-12-2011, 08:50 AM
cheers gentleone, much appreciated - still no sign of the header though I'm afraid.

gentleone
06-12-2011, 11:56 AM
For some reason the script to the Flash movie is different then the one on the page that is displaying correctly, so obviously and perhaps without knowing, you did more then only updating content. Just copy the right one to your new page.
Also it's wise to get rid of those errors... there's no doctype at the top, but there are 3 doctype decleration in between the body tag where the don't belong.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.astonclintoncolts.org.u k%2F&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0

johnMoss
06-12-2011, 12:57 PM
For some reason the script to the Flash movie is different then the one on the page that is displaying correctly...// copy the right one to your new page.

There are several errors in the bad script, but the movie is the same, as is it's placement, so yes, just copy the code & paste. Delete lines 85 through 92 on the bad page & replace with the same code from the good page.

splewington
06-12-2011, 04:12 PM
Guys thanks a million for your help. Johnmoss's quick fix has enabled me to sort the problem out and I'll now work through all of the errors that gentleone has pointed out to stave off problems in the future!

Thanks again, much appreciated.