PDA

View Full Version : Restrict Access to certain users based on if a variable in the SQL database is set to 1

borlino
05-23-2011, 11:05 AM
Hey guys,
I am quite new to PHP and MySQL and I have a question concerning access restriction. For a website project I am experimenting with Dreamweaver's login and restrict access behavior, which works fine. However, on the website I would like to restrict access for users that only have a 1 set in the corresponding MySQL database. So it is quite similiar to the out-of-the-box restrict access to page based on user group, but just depending on another variable in the database. I could not figure out how to implement that.

Your help is highly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

mangofreak
05-23-2011, 03:49 PM
I work mostly on ASP but the idea should be the same:

As part of your login access you have to pass a variable -- as per my example Accesslevel that will verify if the user has access to the next page.

SELECT Username, Password, AccessLevel, AccesslevelID
From tableUsers, tableAlevels
WHERE AccessLevel = AccessLevelID and AccessLevelID = param

Then create your param that would be more or less/ but check your Dreamweaver. In ASP the params are created by the application above the select statement but PHP I'm not sure

parameter = that is the name of you parameter
numeric = type i.e text, boolean, etc
$_POST["alevel"] = that is your value
0 = that is your default value

Also, you should create a session variable for the AccessLevel so you can apply it to all your other pages.

Hope that helps a little.

I'm pretty sure that may be other ways to do it but that should at least give you an idea.

borlino
05-23-2011, 04:57 PM
Hey mangofreak,
Thanks a lot for your answer. My understanding of PHP and MySQL is unfortunately no good enough to fully understand your proposition. But I will try anyway :)

mangofreak
05-23-2011, 06:55 PM