PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver 3 Issue


PodBiz
05-17-2011, 04:40 PM
Hi,

I am used to writing small web pages using script in a notepad but for larger sites I use DW3.

When I am writing a website I alternate between the GUI and the HTML Source to make minor tweaks.

For the last year or so the HTML Source has always been as I have left it, which is easier for me to see and read but recently when I go to the Source it changes all of the <tags> from lower case to upper case and also removes all of the line breaks from the code.

For example:

<body>
<img src="logo.gif">
<br><br>
<p>Welcome to my website</p>
</body>

Becomes:

<BODY><img src="logo.gif"><BR><BR><P>Welcome to my website</P></BODY>

It just makes it that more difficult to find the line to work on.

Is there any reason that DW would do this? Have I changed settings somewhere along the line?

Thanks in advance for your help.

domedia
05-18-2011, 01:52 PM
Dreamweaver 3? Kudos for hanging on to it 8)

If I remember right, there is a setting in the preferences for allowing DW to rewrite the code.

PodBiz
05-18-2011, 02:10 PM
Dreamweaver 3? Kudos for hanging on to it 8)

Change scares me!

If I remember right, there is a setting in the preferences for allowing DW to rewrite the code.

You are a genius Sir!

There was indeed a setting for DW never to rewrite the HTML for various extensions. I just added .htm and .html onto the end of the list and it works.

Many thanks for your help.