PDA

View Full Version : Music player in header


vic20nyc
05-13-2011, 12:36 AM
Hello everybody! (noob here!)

I built a pretty basic one column page (header, content, footer) music website. I want to put a SWF (or just an image) that contains the logo and a music player. My problem is when you navigate to another page the header reloads causing the player to refresh and play from the the beginning of the first track. How do I "embed?" the header so it doesn't reload? I remember this being a lot more simple in HTML but I'm all about CSS. I created a template and messed with the editable regions but maybe I did it wrong or this was not the way to go. Please Help!! I know it's probably so obvious as Iv'e seen it on many band sites BUT sometimes it those obvious things that make you want pull your hair out!!!!

CHEERS!!

johnMoss
05-13-2011, 07:03 PM
Can you post a site link that has a working model of what effect you're after?

gentleone
05-13-2011, 07:36 PM
Loading content with AJAX would be a solution. Here are a few tutorials with demos.

http://css-tricks.com/ajax-load-container-contents/
http://www.queness.com/post/328/a-simple-ajax-driven-website-with-jqueryphp

I've posted not so long ago here on the forum another nice example... will have to look for it.

EDIT:
Found it!
http://www.bydust.com/#/ajaxed-website-automatically-convert-to-ajax-website-combydustajax/

mangofreak
05-13-2011, 11:47 PM
It seems to me that you have a page that is reloading the player thus the replaying of your tracks. Perhaps you can create an iframe or something like it to avoid reloading the whole player again.

A sample as mentioned before by the previous member is also a good idea to figure it out.

vic20nyc
05-14-2011, 12:11 AM
Can you post a site link that has a working model of what effect you're after?

As you can see the header I think is flash based and you can basically navigate in this one window.

Thanks for replying John

vic20nyc
05-14-2011, 12:12 AM
Dreamweaver club is awesome.

TSG
05-22-2011, 05:13 AM
I would like to do this same thing, except I don't want to view the player at all. I've created a 30sec. audio clip which I would like to hear ONCE, and be able to easily up-date on the fly...

{BTW, I'm pretty good at Photoshop & most Mac-n-hack stuff, but I've only started looking at lines of code like these just yesterday!}


<html>
<head>
<title>BILLY MILANO : OFFICIAL SITE</title>

<link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css" type="text/css">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<!-- ImageReady Slices (milano4.psd) -->
<table width="1100" height="763" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" id="Table_01">
<tr>
<td rowspan="3"><img src="images/milano4_01.jpg" width="72" height="763" alt=""></td>
<td colspan="4"><object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" width="944" height="232" id="trak_nav" align="middle">
<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
<param name="movie" value="trak_nav.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#ffffff" />
<embed src="trak_nav.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="944" height="232" name="trak_nav" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" /></object></td>
<td rowspan="3"><img src="images/milano4_03.jpg" width="84" height="763" alt=""></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="images/milano4_04.jpg" width="76" height="451" alt=""></td>
<td><iframe name="content" id="content" frameborder="no" scrolling="yes" src="news.html" width="426" height="451"></iframe></td>
<td><iframe name="banners" id="banners" frameborder="no" scrolling="no" src="banners.html" width="379" height="451"></iframe></td>
<td><img src="images/milano4_07.jpg" width="63" height="451" alt=""></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="4"><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="944" height="80">
<param name="movie" value="footer.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<embed src="footer.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="944" height="80"></embed></object></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- End ImageReady Slices -->
</body>
</html>

TSG
05-22-2011, 05:19 AM
Oops, so my question was, where might I simply insert my actual MP4, or MP4 document to make it play? ...Is it wrapped in a flash-file? What if I just used my old HTML Ap to insert it as a QuickTime player. You know, where the user would actually see the simple play/pause/transport -bar

One thing is for sure, it is really obnoxious to hear most tracks looping over and over...