PDA

View Full Version : adding downloadable pdf page 2 site

cgm
04-30-2011, 05:33 PM
I'm new to the programing end of web site design & am currently working of the development of my 1st site - currently i'm still at the learning stage of developing my portfolio site http://cgmstudio.net/ -

As it's clearly taking longer 2 learn than I expected I want browsers to be able to download a pdf showcasing a sampling of my works - Site the site is at the conception stage I am using Maps in the property window to highlight the area I want linkable - Right now all I'm getting when I go live is an error message -

I welcome any suggestion anyone can offer me - Thanks cgm

domedia
04-30-2011, 08:39 PM
A simple link to the PDF will do

<a href="document.pdf">Download Link</a>

d a v e
04-30-2011, 08:47 PM
your pdf link on the site is broken

cgm
05-02-2011, 12:10 PM
Yes I know the pdf link is broken - it's the how 2 fix it that is challenging me - I did try 2 link it - which seemed like the most obvious step 2 take - but some how the error message is still there so clearly something is a mist - Does any one have any other suggestion as 2 what the problem may b & how I can fix it -

domedia
05-02-2011, 12:46 PM
You need to know exactly where the PDF is, and then link to it.

We must be missing something here.

d a v e
05-02-2011, 01:00 PM
check the link points to the right place and that the filename is correct, adn that you have uploaded the pdf to the server

cgm
05-02-2011, 04:13 PM
Thank u for all ur feedback - yes the pdf is on the server - but i've noticed that I have to personally place my home page pic in the required server folder - don't know why that was & i'm assuming I have 2 do the same w/ the pdf I'm just unsure which folder 2 place it in - I tried w/ the images & w/ the index page - neither seems 2 work - the tech w/ my hosting company has been of no help as he is not DW savvy -

this has & continues 2 b quite a learning experience -

d a v e