PDA

View Full Version : uploading problems

coltheviking
04-13-2011, 09:58 PM
I am trying to upload new pages to an already existing website using dreamweaver. When I try to sync the local and remote folders I get a message saying" "unable to create remote folder". I don't do this often, but have been able to accomplish the task in the past. Now no luck. I have checked with my server and everything checks out on their end. I could use the ftp manager but have not used it in the past and would rather use the synchronization feature. I am not an expert at this and may have set something up wrong. Any help as I would like to solve this as quickly as possible.
Thanks

DWcourse
04-13-2011, 10:50 PM
Check you site definition/setup and make sure you have the correct Host Directory/Server Directory specified.

coltheviking
04-14-2011, 01:23 AM
Hi again
I don't have anything specified for the host directory setting. This has worked in the past. I am new at this but have managed in the past to keep things up and running. I feel that it is something simple that I have overlooked. Maybe my settings for root folder are wrong? I have attached my list of files as arranged in my home computer to see what you think my root folder should be specified.
And do I specify the default images folder the same as my root folder?
Thanks for any help you can give.

DWcourse
04-14-2011, 01:50 AM
Hi again
I don't have anything specified for the host directory setting.

If you're getting a "cannot create remote folder" the problem isn't on your computer. It's either:

1. A misconfigured server OR

2. You need to specify a host directory (as I said)

Connect to your server and look at the remote site. What folders are showing there?

coltheviking
04-14-2011, 04:33 PM