PDA

View Full Version : Joomla

desiree
04-05-2011, 08:31 AM
Hello

I am new to CMS. I am having a problem loading my templates and previewing them. I saved Joomla in htdocs and my templates index files are not appearing.

Can anyone explain why >>?
Thanks
Desiree

Corrosive
04-05-2011, 10:03 AM
Hiya

When you say 'I saved Joomla in htdocs' did you install it (i.e. set up the SQL database etc) or just put the files in the folder? Here is a guide; http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=11926

gentleone
04-05-2011, 10:54 AM
You'll have to upload Joomla templates in the 'templates' directory and then in the admin you will have to activate the template.

desiree
04-05-2011, 12:41 PM
just put the files in the folder which data bases ?:(

Corrosive
04-05-2011, 12:43 PM
The database holds all your content and then you build the framework around it to make a page with the template. You need to read that installation guide I linked to.

gentleone
04-05-2011, 02:37 PM
Yes, you will have to download first the Joomla installation files from the Joomla site and then upload everything to your server which must have PHP and MySQL on it. If you have done that, then you can configure the installation to set-up the databases.

So basically this is your first step:
Download & Install

desiree
04-06-2011, 09:48 AM
Yes I have downloaded and installed and linked it to my xampp mysql
shouldnt the data bases upload automatically. How does it work and what database tables do I need to import in the joomla directory???

Please can you explain which directory/folder needs to be imported into xampp.

Thanks
Desiree :o

gentleone
04-06-2011, 10:58 AM
No, you'll have to create your databases and then run the Joomla installation program in your browser.
http://webdesign.about.com/od/joomla/ss/install_joomla_4.htm
and a bit further in the configuration process you can set-up the connection to your databases.

desiree
04-06-2011, 11:16 AM