PDA

View Full Version : Flash Buttons Not Working On Site?


TDG-Bradders
03-30-2011, 06:11 PM
Right if i preview my site in dreamweaver the link works and it takes me to my page

But when i upload the button and the page then try clicking on it on my website it just doesnt do anything

I have the latest Flash Player
I'am using Firefox, but i have tried on Internet Explorer
I Have tried on several computers


I will thank you so much for any help :)

Kind regards brad.

TDG-Bradders
03-30-2011, 06:39 PM
Button code:

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" width="100" height="23" title="Xbox 360">
<param name="movie" value="Button 1.swf" />

<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" /><param name="QUALITY" value="high" />
<embed src="Button 1.swf" width="100" height="23" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"></embed>
</object>

gentleone
03-30-2011, 09:22 PM
TDG-Bradders:
Please don't double post if you get impatient... I've merged the threads.

re your issue.. the space in the swf name could be your problem... some FTP clients don't like spaces... rename the file and use a dash or an underscore to seperate.

Ricky55
03-30-2011, 09:22 PM
That's just the embed code not the code for the Flash file its self.

Is this just a button you created in Dreamweaver?

Web browser won't have any effect with Flash mate as its played through the Flash player not the web browser.

Send me a link and I'll have a look for you.

TDG-Bradders
03-30-2011, 09:31 PM
www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk

Its just the xbox 360 page it doesnt work i resaved and upload the button with out any spaces but its still not worked :(

*Sorry about double posting thought i had done in wrong section

Ricky55
03-30-2011, 09:58 PM
None of the buttons work for me.

Did you insert them via Dreamweaver or do you have the FLA files for them?

If I'm being honest with you mate I wouldn't even do these buttons in Flash you could do these with simple images with such a simple effect that you have.

The problem with Flash buttons is that they can't be seen on devices without Flash such as the iPhone and iPad and there's just no point when you are doing such a basic animation.

If you had some really swish menu system then the argument to use Flash would be stronger but for these its just point less.

Google will also find it difficult / impossible to index your site with these buttons.

TDG-Bradders
03-31-2011, 05:11 PM
achually i think ive thought about it, i havent created another webspage on my site like my domain is www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk but do i have to create a sub domain or something so it goes to something like www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk/xbox360

:|

gentleone
04-01-2011, 01:20 PM
achually i think ive thought about it, i havent created another webspage on my site
I'm a bit confused now, because you said that you link to pages in your first post, but they only work if you preview in Dreamweaver.
Right if i preview my site in dreamweaver the link works and it takes me to my page
So what exactly do you mean with this?

Anyways... you'll have to create other pages and call the xbox page for instance xbox360.html and then you will have to link to them with your menu buttons. As we said these are Flash buttons, so you'll need the original .fla file to insert the links.

TDG-Bradders
04-01-2011, 05:32 PM
I have changed the name of the file to xbox.html

what i was saying is that my domain name of my website is

www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk

on dreamweaver i have created another page aswell as my homepage, but to get that online will it make a page like www.defiantgamers.co.uk/xbox.html

or on my hosting control pannel of my site make a add on domain or something?

:x

gentleone
04-02-2011, 08:30 PM
on dreamweaver i have created another page aswell as my homepage, but to get that online will it make a page like www.defiantgamers.co.uk/xbox.html (http://www.defiantgamers.co.uk/xbox.html)
Yes, If you upload that xbox page to your server in the root directory where your index.html file is then that would be indeed the URL for the xbox page.

A link to that page from a menu button would be then like this:

<a href="xbox.html">xbox 360</a>

Ricky55
04-04-2011, 02:01 PM
Not being funny mate but if you don't understand the concept of links you need to go away and do some learning or you'll just be pulling your hair out.

TDG-Bradders
04-04-2011, 06:46 PM
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" width="100" height="23" title="Xbox 360">
<param name="movie" value="Button 1.swf" />

<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" />
<param name="QUALITY" value="high" />
<embed src="Button 1.swf" width="100" height="23" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"></embed>
</object>

Whats my current code so where does it go?

<a href="xbox.html">xbox 360</a>

gentleone
04-05-2011, 11:10 AM
I believe you will have to take quite some steps backwards too and learn the basics from HTML & CSS. Like Ricky and I said you need the original Flash files to insert the links for the buttons. If you don't have the .fla files then those buttons are useless.

I suggest you do some reading about HTML & CSS because Ricky is right... you will be pulling your hair out.
http://blogs.sitepoint.com/html-css-beginners-guide/