PDA

View Full Version : Old site showing, new files uploaded


shyanne
03-22-2011, 04:46 PM
Good morning, can't find this exact problem in the archives. I've not worked with web sites for a few years. I have an old website on-line, I bought a new web template. Uploaded the new files this morning - they show on the remote site -- but I can't get the new index to take precedence. Do I need to move/delete all the files for the old site then upload the new files? I did a site sychronize to upload new files. I'm sure this is a simple fix but I can't seem to find the answer. Thanks so much!

Vista, CS3 http://www.windsongart.com

Corrosive
03-22-2011, 07:11 PM
Take the old website down.

shyanne
03-22-2011, 08:51 PM
Deleted all the old files - got a 404. Made new site and uploaded only new files. Server connection tests fine everyplace - but when I try to access it on-line I continue to get a Forbidden - 404 error message. Deleted history. Same error message. What am I missing?

edbr
03-23-2011, 01:18 AM
i see a page but the ccs sheet it is linked to is missing

tejodhar
03-25-2011, 01:55 AM
Good morning, can't find this exact problem in the archives. I've not worked with web sites for a few years. I have an old website on-line, I bought a new web template. Uploaded the new files this morning - they show on the remote site -- but I can't get the new index to take precedence. Do I need to move/delete all the files for the old site then upload the new files? I did a site sychronize to upload new files. I'm sure this is a simple fix but I can't seem to find the answer. Thanks so much!

Vista, CS3 http://www.windsongart.com
Its seems that you are not putting the files to the correct folder on the server

DWcourse
03-25-2011, 01:47 PM
If you are using Dreamweaver to upload the odds are that you are uploading to the wrong directory and need to include a path in the host directory (cs4 and earlier)/root directory (CS5) of the remote server set up.

This is usually /public_html/, /httpdocs/ or /www/ but can vary with the server set up. Your hosting company should be able to help. Make sure you tell them you're using DW to ftp.