PDA

View Full Version : Help! text enlarges on hover!

jase1985
03-05-2011, 09:54 AM
Hi all, i have an issue with a site that i'm working on where the logo and navbar text enlarge when the mouse is hovered over it. Both items are situated in the header of the page. I am quite new to web design, particularly css so I only understand half of it!

Any helps is greatly appreciated.

Corrosive
03-05-2011, 11:14 AM
Link, code or crystal ball please :)

jase1985
03-05-2011, 11:55 AM
lol, well i don't like to give out my crystal ball! The url is www.photoshopbeginner.co.uk

thanks in advance

Corrosive
03-05-2011, 12:04 PM
lol, well i don't like to give out my crystal ball!

Very wise ;)

I think the code that is messing you up is this;

a:hover (line 37){
background-color: inherit;
background-image: inherit;
background-repeat: inherit;
background-attachment: inherit;
background-position: inherit;
color: #006699;
text-decoration: underline;
font-size: 2em;
}

Try playing with the font size I have put in bold. Suggestion would be to use px (pixels) rather than em as a measurement.

jase1985
03-05-2011, 12:47 PM
thanks for the suggestion, it has worked and stopped the text from expanding but it has however highlighted a new problem, would you mind checking the link again please, the error is on the navbar only now when you hover over it.

Thanks again

Corrosive
03-05-2011, 01:27 PM
#header-content li a:hover (line 280)

{

background-color: #65944a;

background-image: none;

background-repeat: repeat;

background-attachment: scroll;

background-position: 0% 0%;

color: #ffffff;

font-size: 1.3px;

}

1.3px is a very small font size ;)

jase1985
03-05-2011, 01:33 PM
thanks again, i had changed the wrong property in the css. All sorted (for now lol). The support here is fantastic

d a v e
03-05-2011, 01:38 PM
still jumps on the contact link in the first page - if you check with the css validator you have errors