PDA

View Full Version : failed to retrieve directory listing

curly
02-26-2011, 03:26 PM
Hi i cannot access my ntlworld free website http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geoffreid/index.html
through Dreamweaver Cs4 so I downloaded FileZilla and tried that and got a message= failed to retrieve directory listing and also 500 FEAT NOT UNDERSTOOD? I contacted Virgin tech support and they can't see a problem from their side. I think there is a problem because I am using a router but I don't have an idea of how I can fix this? Any guidance would be helpful. Geoff

blake
02-27-2011, 03:57 AM
Were you using a router before this problem?

curly
02-27-2011, 09:54 AM
Yes I have been using the same router for a couple of years. A couple of months ago I had trouble connecting to the internet and it took about an hour with a tech support person to get back online. I had to connect a lap top to the virgin modem directly and the tech support did something their end to make the connection. I ran a CMD line before that to ping from my PC and was getting something like tls 5 losses after she did something it was IpV4 5 losses? I don't know whether this has anything to do with my current problem because I did not upload to this site very often. Yet I have another site on a different server from Virgin that I can upload to through Dreamweaver without a problem. Virgin used to be Ntl it seems like the people with the Ntl websites are experiencing the
most problems.
Resolving address of upload.ntlworld.com
Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220-
Response: 220-################################################## ################
Response: 220- Welcome to upload.ntlworld.com
Response: 220-################################################## ################
Response: 220 upload.ntlworld.com FTP server ready
Command: USER geoffreid
Response: 331 Password required for geoffreid.
Command: PASS *******
Response: 230 User geoffreid logged in.
Command: SYST