PDA

View Full Version : Validation and such? (long post)

roseanna
02-25-2011, 10:51 AM
Well, I am a complete newbie in building websites..

Was using a cms system for my website for a couple of years, but got tired of not having freedom to decide what I wanted on my site.

as so many thing before, I know that if I just give it a try I usually can learn how to do it - so decided to give the building of my websites a try.

I chose Dreamweaver as I had heard good reviews of it - but with no clue whatsoever on how to do anything in it. Tried some different tutorials and felt confident enough to give it a try...

My first website ever is www.byroseanna.dk that turned out ok - decided to make my other website myself too - I just love the freedom I have to design it my way. The last page is not completely done but it lies here www.roseanna.dk (also do anyone know a good free program to compress pictures - I know they are a bit to large to load quickly)

And then I discovered something called HTML Validation?? tried to run both pages through it and they turned up with a lot of warnings and errors! I then tried to run a lot of the sites I visit on regular basis and almost everyone of them turned up with errors and warnings too - so I thought that maybe it was ok in spite of the big amount of errors.

I want to ask you how important it is to validate a site? A lot of the errors I get is just gibberish for me - I really dont understand them and what I should do to remove the errors.

Only thing I know is that a big part of the errors has something to do with the Thickbox gallery add-on - I downloaded it form Adobe/DW website?? Shouldnt it be ok then?

Where can I learn how to remove the errors? - or maybe just learn which of them I can do something about, and which I can't.

Is validation really that important? I mean a lot of the sites I use every day has lots of errors too - never affected my use on them as far as I know of.

Corrosive
02-25-2011, 11:15 AM