PDA

View Full Version : Special Characters


Blue_Vision
02-11-2011, 06:30 PM
Question. All of my pages have this UTF-8 meta tag:

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

But I've always had to type ' to get an apostrophe to appear. Otherwise I get a question mark if I leave the html with a normal apostrophe.

If I change it to:

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />

Then it seems to work no problem without the special ' coding. Although after searching around this almost seems backwards from the way it should be with UTF-8 but I'm not really sure.

Should I use ISO or UTF-8? Am I currently getting normal behavior? How should I be handling special characters like apostrophes?

Thanks!

Blue_Vision
02-13-2011, 01:04 AM
Any ideas? Thanks!

johnMoss
02-13-2011, 07:00 PM
Should I use ISO or UTF-8? Am I currently getting normal behavior? How should I be handling special characters like apostrophes?




My vote is UTF-8; the higher-ups on this site may come to different conclusions based on your needs, but for special characters in UTF-8 & others it is a given you need to use special nomenclature to get them to work properly on all browsers.

The nomenclature you need is already built-in to dreamweaver but for additional reference you can use this as well:

http://www.ascii.cl/htmlcodes.htm (http://www.ascii.cl/htmlcodes.htm)

domedia
02-13-2011, 11:46 PM
You can use either, none is wrong really. I use UTF-8 as well, but ISO-8859-1 is also a proper character set.

Blue_Vision
02-15-2011, 01:44 AM
can you give me any idea of an example of what problem/downsides I could run into with changing it to iso?

Also, I already coded the entire website with the html codes for apostrophe etc. If I go with the iso then would I need to uncode all those apostrophe's or are they cool to leave them that way but I wouldn't need to code them like that anymore in the future?

FYI, I'm not using Dreamweaver anymore these days as I didn't like the way it works really... just coding by hand. So DM isn't adding the html for me.

Thanks!