PDA

View Full Version : 'Preview in browser' DW8

yorkshire carper
12-08-2010, 07:51 AM
Hi Ive just installed DW8 on my new win 7 pc. For some reason when I go to 'preview in browser' to see how changes to my pages look prior to uploading it to server the page/s doesnt look as it should do. I'm a total novice really at this and so not sure how to describe how the pages look but the text is there but not in the positions it should be and the background colour is missing and there is a small square in middle of the page which is actually the back ground colour..odd?!

I have added screenshots of the view when 'previewed in browser' with DW8 and the actual webpage when accessed via internet exporer - latest version.

Yorkshire Carper

PS Everything worked fine on my old xp pc. I have set up different browsers like outlook express and firefox as options to choose when clicking to 'preview in browser'..

Corrosive
12-08-2010, 08:51 AM
Looks like a stylesheet path issue to me. That is a guess mind you!

yorkshire carper
12-08-2010, 09:21 AM
Anyone else got any ideas?
YC

Ricky55
12-08-2010, 11:25 AM
Need to see more really mate as Corrosive said above we'd just be guessing otherwise. Can you show us the code?

I've had to design websites for some pretty uninspiring topics but cleaning guttering tops any of mine...

yorkshire carper
12-08-2010, 11:57 AM
does the attached help?

Corrosive
12-08-2010, 12:15 PM
Your stylesheet path is images/styles.css and yet you have a folder called 'styles'. I'm sticking with my original analysis that your stylesheet path is incorrect (or it is a really strange place to put it!).

yorkshire carper
12-08-2010, 12:27 PM
yes i see the style sheet in the images folder and i have just clicked on the styles folder and there is a style sheet in there too,the same one as is in the images folder ie it looks to have been duplicated?