PDA

View Full Version : At Witts End . . . Yes I'm A Noob (Damn-it)

The LP Master
12-08-2010, 01:13 AM
Hi-ho:

I followed a very cool tutorial from tutvid and was able to come up with www.thelpmaster.com (http://www.thelpmaster.com).

I have been trying to create my pages for the nav bar and I keep screwing up the home page, or index.html. I realize that it must have to do with the css, but I cannot figure out how simply create pages to link to the home page that will not adversely affect it.

My page ideas are simple, like the home page - nothing special, no flash or anything - but I am stuck. Miserably so.

How do I do this? Templates?

Thanks in advance - I've read thru several posts and I am fairly confident you all can help me!

Reagards,

-- Will

Ricky55
12-08-2010, 02:01 AM
Your question is a little open ended I would personally recommend some more training and hopefully all will become clear.

I don't like to put people down but I've seen some tutvids on You Tube and he doesn't really use best practices or have much more knowledge than that of what he's teaching.

It's difficult as a beginner knowing which sources to trust as there are so many blogs and teaching resources on the web.

When I read blogs I always look at how the site looks and feels and of course coded you can usually tell if the author knows his or her stuff.

If you can afford it and are serious about learning I would check out Lynda.com. Or get a good CSS book.

DWcourse
12-08-2010, 04:05 AM
Sorry but I, like Ricky, am a bit confused about what it is you're asking. If you can clarify I'm sure folks here will be glad to help.

jmichae3
12-08-2010, 05:33 AM
Hi-ho:

I followed a very cool tutorial from tutvid and was able to come up with www.thelpmaster.com (http://www.thelpmaster.com).