PDA

View Full Version : 'Open Browser Window' only works on my computer


TonyHarrison
11-28-2010, 11:13 PM
I've added a behaviour to 'Open Browser Window' onClick and this function used to work. But recently I've changed the page that is opened in the new window and the function only works on my computer. When you transfer the website to another computer and try to click the link, the cursor changes to the hand but clicking it does nothing.

Any help would be great. Also, I'm not very good at coding etc, so simple instructions would be good.

Thankyouuuu

edbr
11-29-2010, 01:12 AM
is there some
javascript you used to do this?
ah i see you said , not familiar with dw 'behaviours' but you may need to upload a file i fthe script is not on page. also it is possible the other computers browser has javascript disabled

TonyHarrison
11-29-2010, 01:15 AM
um i'm not sure.

the code is:

<div id="apDiv8"><img src="Images/Buttons/PictureIcon-01.png" alt="Photo" width="40" height="38" border="0" onclick="MM_openBrWindow('45 Murray St.html','','scrollbars=yes,width=800,height=800')" /></div>



It's just weird that it worked before but it doesn't now, and I have changed any of the behaviour specifications.

DWcourse
11-29-2010, 08:41 PM
can you post the url?

Ricky55
11-29-2010, 09:18 PM
I'd avoid using this if I were you as it won't work at all if the user has javascript disabled which isn't good.

Just use a regular link.

Or depending on the content use a jQuery powered window box at least this way your page isn't broken when javascript isn't enabled as they work with just regular links.

One of my favourites is:

http://colorpowered.com/colorbox/

This works with all types of content. It degrades gracefully and looks much cooler to boot.

DWcourse
11-29-2010, 10:29 PM
Ricky makes a good point.

TonyHarrison
11-30-2010, 12:06 AM
The url is: http://mcnallymanagement.com.au/Commercial.html

The one on the internet works. You click the photo icon and the photo appears in a new window. Except the image was too big so I went back and made the image smaller but now when you try it on another computer the window doesn't open at all.

How can you get the image to open in a new window without using the Behaviours?

Thanks for your help


oh and sorry that everything loads slowly, i'm working on trying to condense things

Ricky55
12-01-2010, 02:15 AM
Your page loads slowly because you have a PNG background thats the same height as the page. This graphic only needs to be the height of the blue portion the black section should just be a colour.

Use the link I provided to open these images don't use open browser window for the reasons I listed above. If you make your images something like 700 x 450 pixels at 72 DPI saved for the web it will work very well for you.

See the examples here

http://colorpowered.com/colorbox/core/example1/index.html

If you don't know how to use this come back to us and I'll record a video and post it on Vimeo for you or perhaps ask Dom to post it on here.

TonyHarrison
12-01-2010, 03:15 AM
I'll have a look at the video.


Yeah in the updated version of the website i've gotten rid of the png background etc.

thanks for your help

TonyHarrison
12-02-2010, 02:37 AM
I think i might need help using ColorBox.
Not really quite sure what i'm supposed to be doing..

Ricky55
12-02-2010, 09:53 PM
Tony just seen this been very busy today. If you can hang fire until tomorrow I'll record a video for you explaining how to use colorbox.

I'll post it tomorrow evening. UK Time around 9pm or something or earlier if I get time during the day.

Thanks

Richard

TonyHarrison
12-03-2010, 12:45 PM
thanks so much.

you can call me Giselle though haha

Ricky55
12-04-2010, 12:02 AM
Here you go mate hope you can follow it come back to me if you need any further help.

The video
http://vimeo.com/17454106

The Exercise Files
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/508261/Colorbox%20Tutorial.zip

Let me know how you get on.

Thanks

Richard