PDA

View Full Version : Can't draw any AP Divs in any files

Rippa
11-18-2010, 04:55 PM
Hi there :) I'm fairly new to Dreamweaver and have come across a sudden problem. For some reason all of a sudden I can't draw any AP Divs anywhere except on the background. When I try to draw an AP div over another layer I can't. When I draw one on the background and then try to move it on top of another AP Div I can't. I just get the black circle with a line through it icon on my mouse. This isn't just on ONE particular page I'm working on, its on all pages I have on Dreamweaver, on completely different templates for different websites I'm working on.

Everything was working fine earlier but now all of a sudden I can't draw any AP Divs. Has anyone got any idea as to why this has happened?

I really appreciate any help! Thanks :)

Rippa
11-18-2010, 05:37 PM
Note: I would also like to add that I can insert a Div onto the background and THEN change the position of it via the Properties panel so that it sits on top of another div. It just wont seem to let me do it manually. Again, any help is greatly appreciated!

teresamar2
11-18-2010, 08:24 PM
Make sure your z-index number of the image you want on top is higher than the ones underneath.

Rippa
11-18-2010, 08:26 PM
Thanks for the reply, I have since found out that I had "Prevent Overlaps" ticked under AP Elements, and thats what was causing the problem.

Corrosive
11-19-2010, 06:09 AM
Errrmmm.... You're not creating your whole page from ap divs are you...??

Ricky55
11-19-2010, 08:55 AM
This is one of the issues with tools like this they can lead to bad practises. I'm editing a site at the moment that was built in this way and it's a nightmare even the smallest text changes are impossible unless they arevthe same length as the existing text.

gentleone
11-19-2010, 11:37 AM
Yes, apdivs based layouts are almost as evil as table based layouts.

domedia
11-19-2010, 01:58 PM
They're just incredible inflexible to use for layout

Rippa