PDA

View Full Version : Best practice for header?

mlc269
11-13-2010, 07:16 AM
I have a header image designed in photoshop, as well as header navigation icons that are supposed to be on top of the header, and I'm not sure which direction I should be going.

Direction 1: Import header and icons each separately as photoshop smart images, place navigation bar using navigation bar images tool in dreamweaver. For this I have the header and the menu in the same container div tag, and have a negative margin set on the navigation to get it to be on top of the other image.

Direction 2: Slice and import in photoshop.

I'm brand new at this so I apologize if these are silly questions- I really want to learn how to do this the right way. I am leading towards slicing and importing from photoshop, because my icons look like sh*t after I import them to dreamweaver separately.

I want the icon background to be translucent, and I have a texture as the background. I tried having the icons in a separate container, and giving them the same background texture as the header, but the seam looks horrible where the background lines up.

ALSO, this probably should be a separate question, but I decided to learn to code my own sites and do my own graphics after a mishap with wordpress led to my site crashing and me not knowing how to fix it. (I messed up some php code and didn't know what) So I imported my whole site locally to dreamweaver only to discover that wordpress had created thousands and thousands of files, that I can't make heads or tails of. I decided the best thing to do is bag everything from wordpress and start scratch in dreamweaver. Anyone have experience with this situation????? Does wordpress create code so confusing that you'll have to use wordpress forever?????

Please help!

Corrosive
11-13-2010, 07:34 AM
Hi there and welcome to the forum.