PDA

View Full Version : 2 domains need to point to one site


davidj
11-10-2010, 02:37 PM
ok chaps

I have domain1.com and domain2.com

domain2.com points to a site which is being switched off

The content on domain1.com is going to cover what was on domain2.com so would like domain2.com to point to domain1.com but resolve to domain1.com!! :shock: < head battered yet?

easy to point domain2.com to the site of domain1.com but could impact SEO as this would be seen as duplicating content..! Ok so guess it would be best practice to implement a 301 in the .htaccess file of domain1.com or would this be best done through the VHOST file?

domedia
11-10-2010, 02:44 PM
301 is your friend!

Do it in the httpd.conf file, if you have server access. If you don't have that access, keep the hosting account for domain2 and do a 301 in the htaccess file.

Domain 2 will be removed from the SE's and not be a candidate for duplicate content, and any link juice that came in to domain2, will be transfered to domain1.

davidj
11-10-2010, 02:47 PM
cheers

I'm on the case