PDA

View Full Version : Creating Dreamweaver membership site

uzbyte
10-29-2010, 02:30 PM
Hi! I'm new, so apologies for asking questions that may have already been covered to death.

I used CS4 recently to make a webpage. I now want to turn it into a membership site. Some features I'll need are: Paid user registration, password protection for certain pages, auto password generation/recovery... Down the line (after I figure out the first part, heh) I'd like to add a shopping cart feature for purchases and a nonpay/membership access forum (ie there will need to be multiple levels of membership). The overall gist is that user's will pay to become a member and subsequently have access to protected pages.

Now I must be blunt, I am clueless when it comes to PHP and MySQL. Complete newbie. I've looked at the big name CMS sites but it seems needlessly complicated to use given that I already have my site the way I want it in dreamweaver...and I'd like to continue using dreamweaver. I looked at php scripts but again it's hard to determine how good they are and I'm not well versed in the language so modifications could be a problem for me down the line. Also most of the open source ones have very limited documentation. :???: My question to all of you who are kind enough to humor me is: What would you suggest? Where should I begin? I would be grateful for information on scripts that can be easily embedded, or even more preferably dreamweaver extensions that may ease my transition to PHP. I know CS5 apparently has some new features for PHP stuff...do you think it would be worth the upgrade? And if so what is the scope of what I can do with just dreamweaver without having to be a php programmer?