PDA

View Full Version : Can't connect to server in Dreamweaver?


RandomlyKnighted
10-13-2010, 03:28 AM
Hey everyone, I've got a computer that I've installed Windows Server 2008 on. I've installed IIS and installed FTP 7.5. I set it up so that I can log in using a certain username and password. I've been trying for a couple days not to connect to my server but I keep getting an error message when I try to connect. I'm so frustrated that I don't know what to do.

Any suggestions?

DWcourse
10-13-2010, 03:35 AM
Is your server on a separate computer? How are you networked with that computer?

edbr
10-13-2010, 03:35 AM
if you put the servers ip address in a browser do you get the localhost page come up?
if not do you getit while on your server and you go to localhost? i so check firewall settings

RandomlyKnighted
10-13-2010, 03:40 AM
@DWcourse....my server is a separate computer on my home network


@edbr...when I type in my server's ip address on my home computer it gives me a server 403 error message

I'm running Dreamweaver CS4...DWcourse I signed up for your mini course to make sure that I was doing it right and I still get the problems.

edbr
10-13-2010, 03:54 AM
403 suggests the server is there but rejecting inbound connections. i am clueless with iis but is there a 'publish' server option?
i would definitely check the firewall settings

DWcourse
10-13-2010, 03:54 AM
My course isn't going to answer this question.

Is the IP address correct? And don't you need something besides just the IP address to connect to the server like the path to the root folder of the server? #shotinthedark

RandomlyKnighted
10-13-2010, 03:22 PM
I have attached a picture of what I have entered into Dreamweaver. I put the ftp host and the host directory in the correct boxes. I'm still getting the problem.

DWcourse
10-13-2010, 03:37 PM
No picture attached.

What's the error message that Dreamweaver gives when you hit the Test button in the server setup?

Here's some info on 403 errors: http://www.checkupdown.com/status/E403.html Can you put an HTML file in the server directory some other way and then see if you can see it in your browser?

RandomlyKnighted
10-13-2010, 04:08 PM
I put in a html file and it still gives me the Error 403. I put ftp.onehughes.com (ftp://ftp.onehughes.com) into my browser and tried to connect but it says that my username and password is incorrect and I know it's right because I set it up myself.

RandomlyKnighted
10-14-2010, 04:47 AM
I fixed the problem with the error 403. It was pointing to the wrong directory.

I tried to log in to ftp.onehughes.com but I keep getting the This Page Cannot Be Displayed message. Any ideas?

edbr
10-14-2010, 04:50 AM
ftp.onehughes.com is the name of your local server?
what is the ip address on your network?

RandomlyKnighted
10-14-2010, 04:59 AM
The computer name for my server is Zeus and the network IP address is 192.168.1.25

DWcourse
10-14-2010, 05:03 AM
try using the IP instead of hte domain name in the DW setup

RandomlyKnighted
10-14-2010, 01:01 PM
But if I try update it from somewhere else won't it look for the local IP?

edbr
10-15-2010, 01:10 AM
update it from where? if its in your network it will find it .

RandomlyKnighted
10-15-2010, 02:58 AM
Yes but sometimes I use my laptop while at my college and at work so if I ever update it from either of those places then it will be looking for a local IP address

edbr
10-15-2010, 04:18 AM
but you are setting up a local server, not putting it on "the web"

RandomlyKnighted
10-15-2010, 12:04 PM
Yes but you got to remember that I'm a college student is hardly ever at home so I have to be able to update it from anywhere that I have my laptop.

edbr
10-16-2010, 01:36 AM
ok i see. you have registered onehughes.com domain name and you want to host it on your own computer?
there are free hosting options around which might be a better option, but if you work mostly on your laptop then why not set it up there?

RandomlyKnighted
10-16-2010, 01:45 AM
Exactly...every free hosting option I've tried included ads and I'd prefer not to have ads....I thought about that but when my laptop is shut down then my website will be down.

edbr
10-16-2010, 02:40 AM
not something ive done or would attempt especially with an iss server (security ) would you not consider cheap hosting? if using ana apache server starter hosting can be less than 20 a year.
if not this may helphttp://www.daniweb.com/forums/thread5942.html

RandomlyKnighted
10-16-2010, 03:40 AM
I have limited income and with hosting my own website I can use that money toward things like books or college. Also I read what was on that site you gave me and I do have a static IP. It's a static IP on my network. I have my domain pointed to my router which forwards port 80 to the static IP of my server.

edbr
10-16-2010, 04:54 AM
on your network yes but you want to access via the world web.not for me if this is pure ly for your self to update i dont understand why some adverts would be such a problem. but regardless tjis is as i say not something of my experience. perhaps someone else can advise you

davidwillson
10-18-2010, 10:07 AM
@DWcourse....my server is a separate computer on my home network


@edbr...when I type in my server's ip address on my home computer it gives me a server 403 error message

I'm running Dreamweaver CS4...DWcourse I signed up for your mini course to make sure that I was doing it right and I still get the problems.
403 suggests the server is there but rejecting inbound connections. i am clueless with iis but is there a 'publish' server option?
i would definitely check the firewall settings

davidwillson
10-18-2010, 10:07 AM
Thanks for sharing. it's great

edbr
10-19-2010, 09:30 AM
what happens if you type http:/[/ip address] or localhost

RandomlyKnighted
10-19-2010, 10:41 PM
After running through my server's options I have found out that it's a problem with my server's FTP. I can't even log in when I go to the site.