PDA

View Full Version : New Domain name and google


patodjs
10-09-2010, 02:48 AM
hi you guys know me LOL

Well here is my problem, I have my website running (www.allmoneylovers.ws) and the main topic is personal development and the domain name has nothing to do with my topic and also the hosting company (GDI) provides a very poor service, last night I was trying to install word press on my server to create a blog for my site and my hosting doesn't provide that option is very basic and expensive.

So my plan is get a new domain name that is about my topic and get a new hosting provider like hostgator and then take the content (the hole website template, content, pages, etc)from allmoneylovers.ws and put it on the new site or domain name.

So the Big question is:

If I moved my content from one site to another does google take that as a duplicate content? because they already had index my hole site (allmoneylovers) and the content itself right?

what can I do so it doesn't affect the SEO of the new site?

Hope u guys understand my question!!

Thank you

:D

edbr
10-09-2010, 02:56 AM
best option would be to keep your origianal domain at least for a while, and add a permanent redirect to your new domain. have a look at googles guidelines in webmaster tools.

DWcourse
10-10-2010, 04:01 AM
You can also move the site and the domain name to your new hosting company. Most companies will be happy to help you move to their service.

patodjs
10-10-2010, 09:56 PM
ok so I know what to do I found some information about my problem:

Change of address
If you're planning to move your site to a new domain, use the Change of Address tool to tell Google about your new URL. This will help us update our index faster and smooth the transition for your users.
For best results, follow these steps:

Set up the new site
Review our guidelines for moving your site to a new domain. Set up your content on your new domain, then make sure all internal links point to the new domain.
Redirect all traffic from the old site
Use a 301 redirect to permanently redirect the pages on your old site to your new site. This tells users and search engines that your site has permanently moved. Ask webmasters to update their links to point to your new domain and make sure incoming links to your old site are redirected correctly using the 301 redirects.
Add your new site to Webmaster Tools
Make sure you have added and verified your new domain.
Tell us the URL of your new domain

but im a little bit confuse about how to use the 301 redirect i found this website that talks about it http://www.webconfs.com/how-to-redirect-a-webpage.php

but im still cofused do i have to change my urls? or how ?

Thanks

edbr
10-11-2010, 02:21 AM
redirect 301 / http://www.you.com/
read this
http://www.tamingthebeast.net/articles3/spiders-301-redirect.htm

DWcourse
10-11-2010, 02:25 AM
The 301 is something that runs on the existing domain's server and points to the new domain. So you'll have to keep the existing server live and run the 301 there OR move the existing domain to the new server as well and run the 301 there.