PDA

View Full Version : problem Linking in frames


Kalle
10-06-2010, 02:13 PM
I am making a new website in dreamweaver cs5.

I have one frameset with 2 frames, which I named "menu" and "main"
In the "Menu"- frame on the left, have five links
When I click on the links I want the righ side ("main"-frame) to be replace but instead I get a new window open up with the .html-dokument
I have set "main" as target for each link but still I get this problem


When I preview in browser IE8, Netscape 9, and Firefox...
...for each link I am clicking on I get a new window instead of having
the "menu"-frame replaced in the frameset

It works fine in Opera and Safari browser
But in IE8, Netscape 9, and Firefox 3.6 I get a new window popping up


I have done this before in Dreamweaver 8 and had no problem at
all..working fine in all browsers

What am I doing wrong ?? any suggestions ??!!

Corrosive
10-06-2010, 04:10 PM
What am I doing wrong ??

Using frames

any suggestions ??!!

Yes, don't.

d a v e
10-06-2010, 05:57 PM
http://apptools.com/rants/framesevil.php for your reading pleasure ;)

Kalle
10-06-2010, 09:46 PM
Thanks !!!

Goodbye frames :-)

edbr
10-07-2010, 02:45 AM
good for you kalle,

Corrosive
10-07-2010, 07:18 AM
good for you kalle,

Yes, good decision. Now you need to start researching CSS and div based layouts to build your pages. You know where we are if you get stuck or need anything explaining...Just not about frames!