View Full Version : problem Linking in frames

10-06-2010, 01:13 PM
I am making a new website in dreamweaver cs5.

I have one frameset with 2 frames, which I named "menu" and "main"
In the "Menu"- frame on the left, have five links
When I click on the links I want the righ side ("main"-frame) to be replace but instead I get a new window open up with the .html-dokument
I have set "main" as target for each link but still I get this problem

When I preview in browser IE8, Netscape 9, and Firefox...
...for each link I am clicking on I get a new window instead of having
the "menu"-frame replaced in the frameset

It works fine in Opera and Safari browser
But in IE8, Netscape 9, and Firefox 3.6 I get a new window popping up

I have done this before in Dreamweaver 8 and had no problem at
all..working fine in all browsers

What am I doing wrong ?? any suggestions ??!!

10-06-2010, 03:10 PM
What am I doing wrong ??

Using frames

any suggestions ??!!

Yes, don't.

d a v e
10-06-2010, 04:57 PM
http://apptools.com/rants/framesevil.php for your reading pleasure ;)

10-06-2010, 08:46 PM
Thanks !!!

Goodbye frames :-)

10-07-2010, 01:45 AM
good for you kalle,

10-07-2010, 06:18 AM
good for you kalle,

Yes, good decision. Now you need to start researching CSS and div based layouts to build your pages. You know where we are if you get stuck or need anything explaining...Just not about frames!