PDA

View Full Version : Which direction?

kdogg556
09-15-2010, 05:39 AM
Hello!

First off id like to say im new to Dreamweaver club. And sorta HTML and CSS for that matter. I have been self teaching it to myself for a while but of course i can learn lots more.

Secondly, i need some help. I have a great idea for a web site. But i dont know what to go about doing it. itll be along the lines of gamebattles but still alot different. Although, im looking to get as big as gamebattles. So im not sure where to go or what to do. I am making the home page as i type this. i dont know how to handle a site of that mass. i want to include a forum, chat room and a area where members can upload media. what cgi scripts would i need? what host should i choose? can i do this in just dreamweaver and maybe fireworks? i got the idea but dont know where to go from there. basically it boils down to this; What do i need to do for a big site including a forum, chatting and media uploads?

I know its alot,

but thanks!

edit: sorry if i posted this in the wrong area

edbr
09-15-2010, 06:04 AM
you need a knowledge of html, css serverside tech such as php or asp, database knowledge such as mysql. probably some flash or javascript knowledge.
yes you can do it in dreamweaver or notepad even as its all about code at that level.
couldnt advise regarding cgi scripts but hotscripts is one of many script depositories on the web where you can get free or paid scripts.
also many forums and chat programs available some free some paid.
Hosting depends on the technology you decide to use to build your site

you are looking at a big undertaking and i would advise taking one step at a time

Corrosive
09-15-2010, 09:56 AM
This sounds like a pretty tough assignment for a new user.

gentleone
09-15-2010, 10:52 AM
What do i need to do for a big site including a forum, chatting and media uploads?