PDA

View Full Version : subdomains CPANEL and DW?


bcweb
09-12-2010, 09:35 PM
I used cpanel to set up 2 sub domains for my website.
What do I do in dreamweaver when I have a page (currently called design.htm)
that I want to open under the sub domain? I set up the FTP account in CPANEL.

Now what?

Are sub domains worthwhile instead of just having pages called /name.htm?

edbr
09-13-2010, 01:26 AM
what are your reasons for making them sub domains? personally i would say 'generally' , they are only worth it if you want to promote them separately. there could be a risk of spreading your web presence across them instead fof your main site.

DWcourse
09-13-2010, 05:20 AM
edbr is right. They can be valuable if you have a reason for them. For instance a lot of sites have a subdomain containing the mobile version of their site. But for most purposes I don't see any strong reason for it.

You can set up the subdomain as a totally separate site in Dreamweaver (which is probably a good idea to make sure your links work correctly).

bcweb
09-13-2010, 03:30 PM
Thanks for the feedback on subdomains. I was thinking of including one for blog.domain.com
and another for design work which is different from my main site. I think for a blog the subdomain is better? But probably not for the design portion.

In another question, has anyone downloaded a wordpress template to use with DW? How simple/complex is that?

Thanks