PDA

View Full Version : Insert a group of check boxes


whispercom
08-25-2010, 07:52 PM
What is the purpose of a group of check boxes which insert into the same column?

Thanks
Nick

DWcourse
08-25-2010, 09:26 PM
Checkboxes allow you to make multiple selections from a group. Radio buttons limit you to one selection per group.

whispercom
08-25-2010, 09:39 PM
OK but when you POST how do you distinguish between entries if they all have the same ID. In my case I'm inserting into a database and I'd like it to either insert into different columns (in which case I should just use stand alone check boxes) or Concatenate the entries into a coma separated single entry in the database column.

I guess I don't understands how to use the results!

Thanks for your patience.

Nick

edbr
08-26-2010, 01:24 AM
<input type="checkbox" name="Information[]" will make the selections an array.