PDA

View Full Version : Vertical Spry Menu


KaldeaX
08-24-2010, 05:52 PM
Im completely new to Spry menus, and generally new to HTML...so please excuse the messy style sheets and general unorganization of my coding :confused:

I want to replace my current menu with a vertical spry menu, but there's more than a few issues...

what was once:

this perfectly simple thing (www.alianzarealestate.com)

has turned into

this monstrosity (www.alianzarealestate.com/index2.html)

1: Why does it push my content below
2: Why is that happening to the home button?

NOTE: I realize that I should probably put a horizontal menu at the top...and I may. However, I'm looking at this as a learning experience and would like to fully understand how to put the vertical menu in before I make that decision.

edbr
08-25-2010, 01:36 AM
well first correct the page, you need to structure it ,
<head>
all your styles , scripts tittkle meta tags in here
then <body> for content

At the moment you have a mixture . i would make a new page an d move my elements one by one ito the correct sections

kayburns
08-25-2010, 10:07 AM
I have taught myself the basics of Dreamweaver to keep my design business in business! However I have a problem with a spry pullout menu not working online.
Here is the the link:
http://www.carlingfor-p.schools.nsw.edu.au/

Can anyone help PLEASE?

KaldeaX
08-25-2010, 02:58 PM
Well, since you've posted it on my thread can you tell me how you've gotten the content to sit right next to the spry menu? That's my issue.

Also, I would go back to the "Spry" section of the forums and start a new thread regarding your page so that it will be better seen - and you'll get more replies :-)

KaldeaX
08-25-2010, 05:31 PM
Edbr: thanks for pointing that out, I didn't realize how many issues there were in the basic coding.

DWcourse
08-25-2010, 05:58 PM
I have taught myself the basics of Dreamweaver to keep my design business in business! However I have a problem with a spry pullout menu not working online.
Here is the the link:
http://www.carlingfor-p.schools.nsw.edu.au/

Can anyone help PLEASE?

I can't see the specific issue, but it looks like you've made a number of changes/additions/deletions with the visibility and z-index properties. There's really no reason to change those from what Dreamweaver offers when you insert the menu.

DWcourse
08-25-2010, 06:02 PM
KaldeaX I'd start over with your menu and read this first:

http://www.dwcourse.com/dreamweaver/ten-commandments-spry-menubars.php

And then maybe:

http://www.dwcourse.com/dreamweaver/more-spry-menu-bars.php

kayburns
08-26-2010, 12:27 AM
Thank you for your reply. Sorry to have posted in the wrong place. I am completely new to this! I used a basic two column template from Dreamweaver if this helps.