PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver initial setup question

proctor
07-22-2010, 11:27 PM
Hello: I am re-doing an existing website that is old and done using frames.
At any rate, I'm would like to re-do the site using Dreamweaver, so I'm just learning it.

My question is, when I was in the process of following a tutorial, from the menu bar it had me go to "Site->New Site" and set it up; I listed where the site was currently being hosted, but didn't publish anything yet because the pages aren't ready to upload and i don't want to overwrite the current content. e.g. index.html

I was thinking that I would create a subfolder off the current web to publish the files so the user could view the new stuff before going live, but I was wondering what your thoughts were on this. I'm not sure how else to go about having a space for the user to view the pages before getting rid of the existing stuff.

Also, the tutorial is having me work with a template and I like this idea, because it seems like it would allow me to make the pages uniform. I was wondering what your thoughts are on using the templates? are there any down sides to it? This is a very small site and the content is straight forward.

Thanks for your help and insite.
Proctor

edbr
07-23-2010, 01:13 AM
its fine to use a 'test folder ' thats quite commonly done. you could even if you want secure that folder usih htacces so a user password would be needed to open it.
templates are ok although i prefer to use includes which allow easier site wide changes without having to re upload a lot of files. however that is much less a problem in a small site so should not be a significant downside.

proctor
07-23-2010, 02:50 PM
edbr: thanks for your reply. It's good to know that creating the test folder is commonly done...so I will do that then.

Thanks again,
Proctor

davidj
07-28-2010, 10:14 AM