PDA

View Full Version : Live view not working in CS5


2BRetired
07-20-2010, 06:48 PM
I am new to this forum and Dreamweaver so bear with me.

I cannot get live view to work in CS5. I was trying to open my wordpress blog in live view when I now get an error "Dreamweaver could not find the server "localhost". But it appears correctly in the address window.


http://forums.adobe.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-2985957-34618/DWaddress.JPG (http://forums.adobe.com/servlet/JiveServlet/showImage/2-2985957-34618/DWaddress.JPG)

http://forums.adobe.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-2985957-34634/dwerror.JPG (http://forums.adobe.com/servlet/JiveServlet/showImage/2-2985957-34634/dwerror.JPG)
As you can see the top image has the correct address/location and the lower image is what I get when I click live view.
So far I have checked the wamp server that I am using and it seems to be working fine. I even reinstalled it just in case something got corrupted. I even reinstalled CS5


I can see the wordpress blog fine in "localhost/wordpress" using IE8. I am using XP with service pack 3, Wamp server.



Can anybody help with a suggestion to what to look for next. Starting to get desperate. This is the second day with the problem. All the CS5 server settings seem to be fine as I have it installed on a second machine and that works fine.

Bob

MagicPower
07-23-2010, 02:42 AM
if you are trying to view php on local host you should try using xamp. google it for more information

edbr
07-23-2010, 03:59 AM
not at all wamp is the same if not better than xxamp and would not warrant changing IMO

2BRetired
07-23-2010, 05:23 PM
I have been trying to reply but keep getting reset. Installed on laptop and is working fine. Will dump my desktop. Do not have time to troubleshot anymore.
Bob

2BRetired
07-23-2010, 05:35 PM
I am keeping wamp as it is on all my computers and is running fine on them so far.

Because this problem is only on this one computer. I have installed Dreamwear on my laptop with exactly the same settings and it is working I have decided to dump my desktop and go completely laptop.
Being retired I am trying to make life as easy as possible and become more mobile for travel.

Bob

edbr
07-24-2010, 02:42 AM
sounds like a plan :). probably a reinstall would sort your desktop out then

2BRetired
07-24-2010, 06:36 AM
Actually no. I tried reinstalling DW and WAMP a few times but nothing changed so this became the simpler option as there have been few other concrete ideas where to look.

So next is learning CSS and this program.

Thanks Bob

MetalRaT
08-23-2011, 01:20 PM
I had exactly same problem that 2BRetired had with the live view thing. I tried awmost everything. I was even thinking for reinstalling my windows...
But I have found what was my solution, and that might be to others too.
Mine was the simpliest and the stupidest one. For me it only works if I run Dreamweaver AS ADMINISTRATOR. If I don't run it this way it's not working at all... Stupid.
I am using Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and DW CS5 v.11 Build 4993 with the HTML5 update.

domedia
08-23-2011, 01:51 PM
As far as I know, Adobe did not make DW5 for 64 bit systems, and does not guarantee it works on it.