PDA

View Full Version : How to insert a pound sign () in an amount


K.Simmonds
07-11-2010, 09:52 PM
I have just listed some currency amounts for a charity donation, but I'm getting the "A" symbol in front to the sign - like this:

£1,500 RNLI
£2,500 St.Catherine's Hospice (Scarborough)
£4,350 Martin House Children's Hospice (Boston Spa)
£3,250 Goathland Playing Field Fund
£1,500 Great North Air Ambulance

I've been back into Dreamweaver, "insert / html / Special characters / pound" but no change. What am I doing wrong ??????


The web page is: http://www.aidensfieldstores.co.uk/Pages/heartbeat.html

Ricky55
07-11-2010, 11:44 PM
In your code you should use £ rather than the symbol.

See a full list here:
http://www.ascii.cl/htmlcodes.htm

Ricky55
07-11-2010, 11:46 PM
Idiot my code was replaced you need to use the & #163;

without the space between the & and the #

K.Simmonds
07-12-2010, 12:09 AM
Thanks for replying Ricky. I tried what you said in the code, but that didn't work either. Just to complicate it, look at the line before, where it mentions 16,000. It reads as it should ..... but look at the code. Why does the 16,000 read correctly, when the other amounts don't ?????


To date the donations have just passed the &pound;16,000 mark. Phil and Garry would like to thank all the visitors for their generosity.</p>
<p>So far, beneficiaries have included:</p>
<p>&pound;1,500 RNLI<br />
&pound;2,500 St.Catherine's Hospice (Scarborough)<br />
&pound;4,350 Martin House Children's Hospice (Boston Spa)<br />

edbr
07-12-2010, 01:19 AM
do you close the <p. tag after this?

K.Simmonds
07-12-2010, 06:47 AM
Yes. That is just the first few lines of a long list. I can't see why the 16,000 is OK, but the others aren't.

I just had a thought though, the sign for the 16,000 (I just update the total) was done in Dreamweaver 3. All the other amounts were created in Dreamweaver CS5. That shouldn't make a difference should it ?

Corrosive
07-12-2010, 07:19 AM
That shouldn't make a difference should it ?

Shouldn't do. Code is code is code no matter what DW you are using.

Corrosive
07-12-2010, 07:22 AM
Shouldn't you list be in a...list tag?

example;

<ul>
<li>&pound;1,500 RNLI</li>
<li>&pound;2,500 St.Catherine's Hospice (Scarborough)</li>
<li>&pound;4,350 Martin House Children's Hospice (Boston Spa)</li>
</ul>


Just for the sake of good coding.

K.Simmonds
07-12-2010, 08:36 AM
I've found out it was an FTP problem, and I've fixed it now.
Thanks for your help and sorry for wasting your time.