PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie - is Dreamweaver for me?

Melissa2010B
05-16-2010, 07:16 AM
I have a small part time home business company of my own, with my sister partner. I'm a process server.

I did the web site with CoffeeCup HTML Editor.
http://www.coloradoprocessservers.net

I get some compliments on it, at times, but my skills are so basic that I've never even learned CSS yet, and I keep pretty busy with my work.

I never noticed how crummy my site CAN look until I went from my old 2001 XP PC with a 19" CRT monitor, to this refurbed quad core Windows 7 PC with a new 24" LCD monitor. Then I went "ack!". The stuff is all over the place.

Someone was telling me that I can center it all and make it look better if I use CSS, but I looked into that with CoffeeCup's CSS software and it's like greek to me.

Then I was talking with someone who said to just get Dreamweaver, that it can help me out without me writing all the code, and do CSS. ( CoffeeCup has their VSD but I dont think it does CSS )

But then I looked at the prices for Dreamweaver and said HOLY COW!
( well except for some guy on Craig's List who claims he's selling CS5 for $75, but I'm guessing that's not legitimate. Oh, I see his post disappeared...

I met a guy today who does web design with Dreamweaver but he says he's done like 2 years of classes in it. Is that necessary to do something like I need to do? If so I'm cooked.

He says he can charge me to redesign my site in DW but it's important to me to be able to update my site myself and maintain it, without having the financial drain of keeping a web designer paid.

So your thoughts on this?

If I invest in DW, say an older version like CS3 or CS4 ( assuming they work with Win 7 ) will I just be able to hop to it and quickly and easily redesign my site with CSS, so it stays centered and nice looking on any monitor?