PDA

View Full Version : 2 (hopefully) very basic questions

EatMoreHippo
05-02-2010, 06:36 PM
Hey, I'm very new to HTML and Dreamweaver and I've hit a bit of a snag.

I made a nice webpage in Photoshop and then used the slices to divide them into where I'd like to place my content. Then I saved it as an HTML and opened it in Dreamweaver. Now what I had was basically the base page of what I wanted, when I tried to drag a picture that I imported in it moved all the slices around and made the page completely broken. So the first question is how can I basically set that one picture as the background so it will never move?

The next problem I have is text boxes. Put simply how can I put a square text box that I can add text in with Dreamweaver?

I've been struggling with these issues all week and it's getting tiresome, if you can help at all I'd be very appreciative.

domedia
05-03-2010, 01:05 AM
Hey, I'm very new to HTML and Dreamweaver and I've hit a bit of a snag.

I made a nice webpage in Photoshop and then used the slices to divide them into where I'd like to place my content. Then I saved it as an HTML and opened it in Dreamweaver. Now what I had was basically the base page of what I wanted, when I tried to drag a picture that I imported in it moved all the slices around and made the page completely broken. So the first question is how can I basically set that one picture as the background so it will never move?
First of all don't let PS write your HTML.
Manually save the background you want from PS and then use it in DW.
If you want this area of text to visually look like a box, you can use CSS to style it.

The next problem I have is text boxes. Put simply how can I put a square text box that I can add text in with Dreamweaver? What do you mean exactly with 'text box'? If you place the cursor anywhere in an open document, it should work.