PDA

View Full Version : displays in IE8 but not firefox?


curly
04-30-2010, 11:09 AM
This is a copy of my d,in laws site I use for testing. This page displays in IE8 but not in firefox any suggestions
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geoffreid/contact.php IE8

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geoffreid/contact.php firefox

firefox just shows the code help curly

domedia
04-30-2010, 01:33 PM
Change the file extension to .html and you should be fine.

curly
04-30-2010, 03:59 PM
Thanks I have done that and done a sitewide update links to contact.html and deleted contact.php in dreamweaver. However the links still go to contact.php even though I have deleted it and put the html files (uploaded). If I try to link from say home to contact, the php file still comesup? If I delete the .php and type in html the correct page comes up? Sorry for being ignorant. curly

Corrosive
04-30-2010, 04:02 PM
I'm still seeing this;

<li><a href="contact.php">Contact us</a></li>

Change it by hand maybe?

domedia
04-30-2010, 04:14 PM
If I try to link from say home to contact, the php file still comesup? If I delete the .php and type in html the correct page comes up?
Are you asking or telling? It makes little sense when you say it like that.

If you replace .php with .html your site will work.

curly
05-01-2010, 07:40 AM
Sorry for the confusion if I preview or upload http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geoffreid/contact.html that is fine. Go back to home on the nav bar and then click contact us it goes to the contact.php page.Even though I have deleted my contact.php page in dreamweaver In the address bar at the top if I delete .php and type in .html I get the right page http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geoffreid/contact.html

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 07:47 AM
I'm still seeing this; <li><a href="contact.php">Contact us</a></li> in the code for your page. If the link points to .php then that is where it will take you.

Even though I have deleted my contact.php page in dreamweaver

You also need to delete it off your server ;)

curly
05-01-2010, 12:14 PM
Done that, I give up now. Page cannot be found?

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 01:49 PM
I'm going to say this one more time and then I give up! If you look at your links on pages such as 'funeral' or 'corporate' they are STILL pointing at contact.php. You've deleted that so 'page cannot be found'. Change ALL of your links to say contact.html and you'll be good to go.

gentleone
05-01-2010, 01:54 PM
He will be good if he change contact.php to contact.html, but than the contact form won't work because it needs PHP to send the form.

Did you ask your hosting if there is PHP installed on your server. I guess it's a free hosting... am I right? Probably than no PHP on your server.

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 01:59 PM
Might also be Windows hosting with no PHP. I fell foul of that this week.

gentleone
05-01-2010, 02:18 PM
http://homepage.ntlworld.com (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geoffreid/contact.html)
I've tried to find out for him, but this link will redirect to virgin media. I assume his ISP, so I guess no PHP on that server.

Conclusion... your contact form won't work unless you change to a web server with PHP.

Might also be Windows hosting with no PHP. I fell foul of that this week.

Is Windows hosting not mainly with ASP.NET?

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 02:19 PM
Is Windows hosting not mainly with ASP.NET?

Yes, something (else) I am completely clueless about :( Someone else bought the hosting and I didn't notice until I tried to run a PHP page and it just kept downloading the file!

gentleone
05-01-2010, 02:26 PM
Yes, something (else) I am completely clueless about :( Someone else bought the hosting and I didn't notice until I tried to run a PHP page and it just kept downloading the file!

I guess it's good to know from the beginning if you're working on a Linux or a Windows server than ;)

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 02:27 PM
Yes, another tick in the 'lessons learnt' box.

gentleone
05-01-2010, 02:32 PM
On the other hand, PHP and ASP don't differ that much from each other, so ASP is not that difficult to learn if you know already PHP.

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 02:38 PM
I'm sure you are right but I sent them off to convert to LINUX. The hosts offer both so it shouldn't be a problem and I am back in my comfort zone :)

curly
05-01-2010, 02:50 PM
Thanks guys for all your patience, I have managed eventually to fix this with all your input. This is a copy of a site http://www.florists-wirral.co.uk/ I use to practice any changes before I update the real site. The real site has a sever with php which I am clueless about so will have to be extra careful. This dummy site is just a virgin homepage site which is useful for practice and comes free with your broadband package. THANKYOU for patience and help. curly.

Corrosive
05-01-2010, 02:52 PM
Glad it's done and sorry we hijacked your thread a bit. It is a great looking site by the way. Right up my street design-wise.