PDA

View Full Version : The Ten Commandments for Editing Dreamweaver’s Spry Menubars


DWcourse
04-21-2010, 07:01 PM
This is my latest blog post. I think anyone trying to use and customize the Spry menubars in Dreamweaver will find it useful. I just wish folks would read it before they screw things up and start asking questions.

The Ten Commandments for Editing Dreamweaver’s Spry Menubars (http://dwcourse.com/dreamweaver/ten-commandments-spry-menubars.php)

Corrosive
04-22-2010, 07:19 AM
This is my latest blog post. I think anyone trying to use and customize the Spry menubars in Dreamweaver will find it useful. I just wish folks would read it before they screw things up and start asking questions.

The Ten Commandments for Editing Dreamweaver’s Spry Menubars (http://dwcourse.com/dreamweaver/ten-commandments-spry-menubars.php)

Great post DWCourse. That should help a lot of folks out :)

I only have one commandment for spry but you know what that is ;)

edbr
04-22-2010, 08:40 AM
thou shalt not

Corrosive
04-22-2010, 08:47 AM
thou shalt not

You been reading my mind again Ed?

rambo
11-30-2011, 01:11 PM
Good one.Keep it up.Thanks for sharing.

DWcourse
12-01-2011, 12:36 AM
Actually I'm thinking about a post to help folks convert from a Spry menu to something better. Since it uses an unordered list, it shouldn't be too hard.

jonnmero
07-04-2012, 08:00 PM
All other browsers seem to parse spry menus acceptably, so the best solution would to be to get rid of @¤%&##&@100%!!!¤ IE?
All versions!!

Have spent two days trying to get on top of the problems, and when I thought all was fine I realised I had forgotten to check in the pariah browser. :mad:
There the horizontal menu got the brilliant idea that it wants to be vertical.
Haven't given up, but it is a poor way to make money, and the customer wants the drop-down menu, easily editable. Ugh!

And the 10 Commandments are no doubt good, but didn't solve the problem, - alas.

DWcourse
07-04-2012, 08:17 PM
If you post a link to the problem page perhaps we can help

jonnmero
07-04-2012, 08:28 PM
Thanks for the offer, mate!
I thought it was a bit rude to just jump in before I have tried all avenues.
This is just a test page to get the hang of it:

http://www.writeone.net/Futaba/newFutaba.html

And yes, it is rather frustrating when all seemed to go swimmingly!

DWcourse
07-04-2012, 08:56 PM
Sorry I should have asked for more details. Which versions of IE are you having the problems with and can you describe how things look when they aren't working (or even a screen shot).

BTW, I may not get a chance to check back until tomorrow (holiday over here an all).

edbr
07-05-2012, 03:17 AM
had a quick look and it seems in the spry css the browser hacks are repeated, doubt its the problem but have a look and see which is supposed to be there

jonnmero
07-05-2012, 08:46 AM
No, that isn't the problem because I removed it as well, and no changes in IE.
But what really irks me is that the problems are ONLY in IE. All other browsers are just fine, especially after I adjusted the font value to pixels rather than percentage.

Also have the problem of IE 9 incompatibility with Flash Players, so on my computer with Windows 7 all I get is the message that I have to update the Flash player, and when I try I get an error message telling me that it can't be updated. Kinda Catch-22.

Will start with following the 10 Commandments by reading through all the Adobe people's comments in the Spry code, and take it from there. Full report when I get on top of it, because it seems like a universal problem.

edbr
07-05-2012, 09:02 AM
yes i looked on ietester and it was different on every version, i have avoided spry to be honest and as its drop down menus you want that can be acheived with css. if you want to be impressed check out the cssplay.co.uk site.
and yes ie sucks

jonnmero
07-05-2012, 09:29 AM
Yes, and thanks, Ed. Might have to fine a solution for the menus other than Spry. But will miss the convenience.

You're in Bali, where all Aussies go on holidays, aren't you? Not by any chance an Aussie as well?
Cheers,
Jonn

edbr
07-05-2012, 10:09 AM
no im a brit but more gypsy i think been since 1999 so its the longest ive settled anywhere

edbr
07-05-2012, 10:12 AM
heres one i prepared earlier :)


#navbar{float:left; position:relative; color:#FFF; font-size:1.1em; width:960px; z-index:1;
clear:right; background-color:#fff; }

#navbar ul{height:45px; text-align:center; }
#navbar ul li{ margin-right:2px; font-weight:bold; width:120px; height:45px;
text-decoration:none; list-style-type:none;position:relative;float:left; background-color:#904aaa; padding-top:12px; }
#navbar ul .link{ background-color:#904aaa;}
#navbar ul .link ul li{ background:url(../images/bk.png) repeat;}
#navbar ul .current{ background-color:#000;}
#navbar ul .current ul li{background:url(../images/bk.png) repeat;}

#navbar a:visited {color:#FFF;}
#navbar ul ul li {width:120px; }

/* top level */
#navbar a, #navbar a:visited {display:block;text-decoration:none;color:#fff; }

/* hide the sub levels */
#navbar ul ul {visibility:hidden; position:absolute;top:50px;background-color:#fff; width:120px;}

/* second level links */
#navbar ul ul a, #navbar ul ul a:visited {background:url(../images/bk.png) repeat; color:#000; width:120px;}
#navbar ul ul li a:hover {background:url(../images/bk.png) repeat; color:#904aaa; width:120px;}

/* top level hover */
#navbar a:hover, #navbar ul ul a:hover{color:#000; }
/* second level */
#navbar ul li:hover ul,
#navbar ul a:hover ul{visibility:visible;}

jonnmero
07-06-2012, 04:12 PM
This is the best bid so far with IE:

http://www.writeone.net/index_page.jpg

Thought I had uploaded it already, but can't see it, so I try again!

domedia
07-06-2012, 04:45 PM
Should we move this posts into a separate thread?

jonnmero
07-06-2012, 05:13 PM
My last one you had in mind, domedia?
Seems like that one is a hard nut to crack. Contacted Microsoft, but they just washed their hands. Tried Adobe, but all the 'solutions' don't solve anything.

So, yes, it would be great to get a proper solution to the problem, under an easy-to-find headline.

jonnmero
07-07-2012, 12:11 AM
Got a solution that seems to have solved the problem from Nancy O. at Adobe Forums:
Adobe Forums (http://forums.adobe.com/message/4542665#4542665)
It is the second part that is of interest, Fixing Spry Menus 1.6.1.

kradke
10-03-2012, 03:24 AM
Hello, I am having a problem with IE and the spry menu bar as well. So frustrating. The drop down does not work in IE and I am not sure what to do. I have been looking up online to see and have found nothing yet. http://www.krtesting.com/about.html if anyone has time to look at it, I would be very appreciative. thank you.

Did you ever find an answer John?

jonnmero
10-06-2012, 07:25 PM
Yep, as I mentioned in earlier post, it is on this page,
http://forums.adobe.com/message/4542665#4542665

here:
Fixing Spry Menus 1.6.1
http://www.projectseven.com/testing/adobe-bugs/spry-menus/