PDA

View Full Version : Content Management System???

paulprice85
04-21-2010, 12:17 PM
Hello all, firstly you'll have to forgive my ignorance as I feel a bit lost here. I'm currently designing a website for a client (not been doing this for long) and they want to know about altering certain information themselves once the site is done, eg, amend products they sell etc. I believe this is done through a Content Management System? I need a relatively simple way to incorporate this into the site as I'm by no means a programmer. What do I need to do to my design etc to enable a function such as this? And what interface would they typically use to alter what appears on the site?

Appreciate your help here thanks, I've got a deadline and I need to figure this out!

Cheers

Paul

Corrosive
04-21-2010, 12:22 PM
Hi Paul. If you are talking shopping carts then the back-end should handle all this for you. Give the client a log in and away they go. If you are talking CMS then we use ModX now. Take a look at the site; http://modxcms.com/ for the product and also this tutorial; http://codingpad.maryspad.com/beginner-tutorials/ is what helped me get my head around it.

cocoonfx
04-21-2010, 12:35 PM
Hi Corrisive

Madox seems very good... I may implement this for some of my clients. I assume its easy to use and you can fully customise the design etc...

Cheers mate...

Corrosive
04-21-2010, 01:08 PM
The thing I really like about Modx over other CMS is that you can very much base it on your own designs. It took me about an afternoon to run through that tutorial and already feel very comfortable with it. No different to using SSI to build a site and then you can plug your own PHP 'snippets' in to make it do what you want.

I'm very pleased with it but must admit it was a post from gentleone that turned me on to it.

gentleone
04-21-2010, 01:34 PM
I'm very pleased with it but must admit it was a post from gentleone that turned me on to it.