PDA

View Full Version : Divs and Floats - a newbie nightmare!!!

solid74
04-15-2010, 03:48 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie at Dreamweaver and I've been trying to learn the correct way of doing things to build a solid base of understanding as I move forward. I have received great advice to my previous hurdles here on the forum and I am very appreciative for that. I now have a new problem to figure out and I am sure it will be crucial in understanding how pages are built properly in the future.

I have a page with a #container div holding the background image and a #maincontent div centered in the middle. In this #maincontent div I have a #body div and a #footer div, and within the #body div I have three window divs with my content. I want to have the first take up the width of the #body div and the other two side by side beneath the first one.

Sounds simple enough I'm sure. The problem is that when I try to insert the window divs without floats they stack on top of each other, and when I try to assign a float property, the #body div shrinks and leaves the window div outside it! I am pretty new to floats and clears so I tried assigning them to each window and just can't seem to figure it out.

My #container, #maincontent, and #body divs are all auto height, so it seems logical that the window divs within it will make the div around it fit everything. I just don't understand why the floating of the divs is messing everything up. And I can't get my third window div in the right place without floating somehow, right?

Here's my HTML:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title></title>
<link href="_css/main.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>
<body class="oneColLiqCtr">
<div id="container">
<div class="oneColLiqCtr" id="header"></div>