PDA

View Full Version : Naming Files

Adamw
04-08-2010, 05:36 AM
Hi, I am completely new to web design and trying to teach myself with adobe how to's book. I have a remote site and set up a local site and that is good, now I am going through trying to get the pages started and Ive already hit a road block - one of many I'm sure...

When it comes to naming page files I got it that the home page should be named either index.htm or index.html but what about other pages - such as an enterance page that links to the home page, what about all other pages? Is there a certain way to name them like with the home page?

mangofreak
04-08-2010, 05:44 AM
The first page or Home page, is by default index.htm or default.htm or html
the other pages can be name whatever you find appropriate, contact_me.htm, aboutmycompany.htm

However, the "page title" should be something that would clearly indicate what the page is about.

hope that helps.

MCD
04-08-2010, 04:02 PM
Make sure your files are given a name that will help you identify it. For instance mykids.html is more descriptive and is easier for you to identify than page2.html

dzwestwindsor
04-08-2010, 11:51 PM
Also, a quick note- adding on to what mangofreak said-

Titles are important in SEO. So don't make your homepage title- "The Homepage". instead, make it "Adam's Food Products | Washington, DC | Best Food Products Around"

something like that ;) but also name your files (not titles) just the way that MCD said above.

Adamw
04-09-2010, 04:41 AM
Okay, so if I want www.mysitename.com (http://www.mysitename.com) to be a landing page through which you enter to a home page with various content or leave back to say google, should I name this page file something like default.html and then name the home page - that was accessed from the landing site www.mysitename.com (http://www.mysitename.com), index.html?

Corrosive
04-09-2010, 07:05 AM