PDA

View Full Version : Coding issues... PHP vs ASP


Chapo
03-25-2010, 08:04 AM
Ok... here is my problem... a client came and wanted me to rebuild his website, i knew it was more than html and css... the site was made with ASP. Im not familiar with it so i want to know the difference between ASP and PHP, wich one the price is more expensive to build ?

Here is a reference of the site: http://www.prasfaa.org
Could this site be made in PHP instead if ASP ?

edbr
03-25-2010, 08:27 AM
im sure it could, i see a members section . is it a cms site with admin section?

davidj
03-25-2010, 12:09 PM
Im into CMS'sss at the minute

Drupal is amazing (PHP & MYSQL)

Chapo
03-25-2010, 02:04 PM
Yes.. it is a CMS with admin section.
This site could be made with Drupal or Joomla ?
Why this site made with ASP, some especific reason ?

davidj
03-25-2010, 03:15 PM
This site could be made with Drupal or Joomla It could be done using either. I use Drupal day to day and I am still learning. Its a massive system.

Why this site made with ASP, some especific reason ?

probably because their hosting environment is on a windows box

If this is the case then you may be stuck with ASP

Maybe with a bit of luck you could twist their arm over toward PHP

I can supply a bat!

Chapo
03-25-2010, 11:56 PM
Jeje... supply a bat ...? What help or advice you can offer ?

I'm on the field !!!

mangofreak
03-26-2010, 02:49 AM
check this link. It shows the server environment the site you refer to is on.

http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph/?host=www.prasfaa.org

You would have to change servers to apache.

Chapo
03-27-2010, 05:44 AM
Thanx mangofreak..... i was just wondering why will a webmaster create a site in ASP, is there a special purpose for that ?

Corrosive
03-27-2010, 08:39 AM
Thanx mangofreak..... i was just wondering why will a webmaster create a site in ASP, is there a special purpose for that ?

Only because of Windows based server I'd have thought.

mangofreak
03-27-2010, 01:27 PM
That could be it, or that the developer was more proficient in ASP than PHP.
Whatever the reason, knowing what all the tools on the website are, you can always re-develop on PHP and MySQL. The only think you need is the know-how and time. Cheers.

Corrosive
03-27-2010, 01:29 PM
The only think you need is the know-how and time.

The two most precious commodities on earth. Isn't that always the way.

mangofreak
03-27-2010, 01:30 PM
holly-S...that reply was so fast...I just woke up! ;)

Chapo
03-27-2010, 03:17 PM
Hey Corrosive.... Kuros (i believe for hello) ....
i guess mangofreak is also from UK because he said cheers....

well.... those are good reasons, but i read also something about security and permissions that ASP provides for websites but not sure much about that. I guess i could build from scrath again with php and his brother MySQL and tons of help here.

Oh Oh Oh.... almost forgot something.....
do i need some kind of special hosting or server for this kind of site ?

http://www.prasfaa.org (http://www.prasfaa.org/)

Corrosive
03-27-2010, 03:22 PM
MangoFreak is Canadian according to his badge. You just need to make sure your server runs PHP and MySQL.

Chapo
03-27-2010, 04:34 PM
Yeah right, canadian... didn't look the badge..... Thanx Corrosive...
do you have idea in how to build this ? I want to make a media kit like that.

www.media.oceandrivepr.com (http://media.oceandrivepr.com/)

(hey paul mcartney is having a concert here next week)

mangofreak
03-27-2010, 04:46 PM
The mediakit you are talking about is done using the following: http://issuu.com/business

check the bottom of the page on the link you posted. I'm confused. Didn't you want to do the http://www.prasfaa.org redevelopment using PHP?

I know we all have many projects in mind but which one should your priority be?

BTW, the media kit seems to be done using flash interface with a database feeding the content.

Never done something like it though.