PDA

View Full Version : Replicate shadow effect in Photoshop/Illustrator

Interstellar Icon
03-24-2010, 10:29 PM
Hi All,

I'm trying to replicate a logo for a client that was created by another designer, and I haven't been able to figure out how to recreate the drop shadow on the type.

Here's the logo:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff183/DesignDude/HillcrestLogo.jpg (http://s237.photobucket.com/albums/ff183/DesignDude/?action=view&current=HillcrestLogo.jpg)

When I use the Drop Shadow effect in both Photoshop and Illustrator, the shadow always pulls away from the type. It almost looks like some 3D effect was used, but I'm not sure how to go about finding it. (I'm self-taught, so please forgive my ignorance.)

Any ideas? Thanks in advance for any suggestions... :-D

Sam

d a v e
03-25-2010, 07:19 AM
Once you have your yellow text set up the same as in the image at the same size and with the same tracking (space between letters) and you have the border applied to the text,

then with text layer selected keep your finger on the alt key and press the left cursor key about 7-15 times to copy the layer and move it to the left. this will produce the shadow effect you have above ;)

gentleone
03-25-2010, 10:31 AM
in both Photoshop and Illustrator

and if you're designing/working on logo's than stay away from Photoshop... use only Illustrator.

Interstellar Icon
03-25-2010, 10:19 PM
Once you have your yellow text set up the same as in the image at the same size and with the same tracking (space between letters) and you have the border applied to the text, then with text layer selected keep your finger on the alt key and press the left cursor key about 7-15 times to copy the layer and move it to the left. this will produce the shadow effect you have above ;)

Thanks very much, Dave. Could you tell me specifically what you mean by "the left cursor key"? I've tried alt-everything-I-could-think-of, and none of it's working. :roll:

Sam

d a v e
03-26-2010, 01:22 PM