PDA

View Full Version : WebAssist ?

MCD
03-22-2010, 12:22 PM
I use a couple of the plugins that WebAssist offers and I like them. I'm still fairly new to Dreamweaver after moving to it from Expression Web. What is the general view about WebAssist's products?

davidj
03-22-2010, 01:04 PM
If they produce clean code and make you more productive then fine.

I would expect that a professional developer be familiar with how to write the required functionality. If this is the case and that developer chooses a plugin due to time constraints and deadlines then fine.

And to someone who is not interested in learning the underlying code then i say fine too as long as you dont want to extend the functionality of the plugin as you wont know where to start.

Copy and pasters i say NO. They spend their day copying, pasting and scrounging code from forums.

I always promote learning above any skillset shortcomings plugin. After you have learnt the underlying language and you still rate these plugins then fill ya boots

Save your money and learn to code.

MCD
03-22-2010, 01:29 PM
DavidJ, I can code the HTML and CSS but programming languages have always given me fits. I like Dreamweaver and it speeds up the process for me. At times a third party software is beneficial for someone like me who has accepted the fact I'll never be a fantastic designer or a good programmer. I work hard but sites such as my last one at http://www.warrengarden-center.com is about as good a job as I can do. As you will note, the site is fair at best. If I need a third party product I want to use the best one I can. It is for that reason that I asked about WebAssist.

davidj
03-22-2010, 01:38 PM