PDA

View Full Version : Favicon Using One Instance Only


kremo5le
02-25-2010, 07:08 PM
Hello guys,

Is there a way to generate a favicon for all pages on a non-dynamic site via htaccess or another file within the root folder? My client's site was developed by someone else who didn't seem to do a good job as far as using templates for it. So, including the line of code for the favicon on each page is not an option.

What do you recommend? :confused:

d a v e
02-25-2010, 10:20 PM
"So, including the line of code for the favicon on each page is not an option."

find and replace with the addition of the absolute link to the favicon

something like

find
<head>

replace
<head>
link to favicon...

DWcourse
02-25-2010, 11:38 PM
From Wikipedia:

Most web browsers do not require any HTML to retrieve a favicon that conforms to the de facto file name and type (favicon.ico) located in the web site's root. If no favicon link is detected upon HTML page load completion and no previous site visits are recorded in the browser's history, a favicon.ico is requested automatically.

d a v e
02-26-2010, 05:35 AM
From Wikipedia:

Most web browsers do not require any HTML to retrieve a favicon that conforms to the de facto file name and type (favicon.ico) located in the web site's root. If no favicon link is detected upon HTML page load completion and no previous site visits are recorded in the browser's history, a favicon.ico is requested automatically.

but afaik it's better to have it in there for certain browsers (hmm ie6 anyone, etc) just to make sure it appears.

kremo5le
02-26-2010, 07:28 PM
From Wikipedia:

Most web browsers do not require any HTML to retrieve a favicon that conforms to the de facto file name and type (favicon.ico) located in the web site's root. If no favicon link is detected upon HTML page load completion and no previous site visits are recorded in the browser's history, a favicon.ico is requested automatically.

This sounds good. I will try to see if adding the link to only the home page and the favicon on the root will do.

THANK YOU! :grin:

DWcourse
02-26-2010, 07:51 PM
Sometimes it takes flushing the browser cache and/or time for people who have visited the site to see the new favicon.

kremo5le
02-26-2010, 08:06 PM
Sometimes it takes flushing the browser cache and/or time for people who have visited the site to see the new favicon.

I appreciate all your help.

Have a nice weekend everyone! :grin: