PDA

View Full Version : Why won't my images sit in the correct place?!

lizzieish
02-18-2010, 05:53 PM
www.lizziedrawspictures.com

This is my site I am working on. On the "About Lizzie" and "Lizzie's Pictures" pages you can see that in the top right corner is the name of the page, and in the bottom left corner I have a small copyright image. I am very new to Dreamweaver and so, everything has been done using Divs (I'm still not sure if this the correct way to do things!)

On my "Bits 'n' Bobs" page, if you look you can see that the name of the page, and the copyright image are in the top left corner, yet when I click on the measurements in Dreamweaver to check it over, everything is exactly the same as the pages where everything is in the correct place.

Can anyone see why they don't sit in the same place as they do on the other pages, even though on Dreamweaver everything appears to be the same?

Thankyou for any help you can give me!

Lizzie x

gentleone
02-18-2010, 06:14 PM
The reason why its moving up to the top is because the div where you have inserted the big picture on the previous page is not on that bits & bobs page. That div was pushing the copyright notice to the bottom.

To be honest with you... there is a lot not right with your pages. You don't use a doctype and even on the opening page there is no html, head and body tags. This will lead that especially IE goes into quirks mode.

Your images are way to big, so they are loading very, very slow.

You use div's... that's good, but using only Apdivs is not good...

I'd recommend that you're going to do some online learning... look for CSS for beginners tutorials, because if you go on like this you will ran into problem after problem.

lizzieish
02-18-2010, 07:34 PM