PDA

View Full Version : Thumbnail linkage strange


soundchaseruk
02-17-2010, 02:05 PM
I have two images linking to pdf menus; all are named differently and the pdfs are stoed in the assetts folder.

For some reason each time I link to the pdf of their thumbnail they both default to just one. Its weird. I link them, save them, and then I check the linkage they both point to the same pdf.

I even removed a image, placed a photo placeholder and re set the image, and linked it. Still no joy.

Any ideas ? I have the client reminding to fix it, and I just cant get DW to play ball.

HTML for these items is :
<td width="263" height="250" rowspan="5" align="center" class="subHeader"><p><a href="outside.pdf"><img src="assetts/menu thumb1.png" alt="" name="outside" width="248" height="176" hspace="0" vspace="30" id="outside" /><img src="assetts/menu thumb2.png" alt="menu2" width="247" height="176" hspace="30" align="top" id="menuinside" /></a></p>

Corrosive
02-17-2010, 02:21 PM
Your opening and closing <a> tag wraps both thumbnails so, yes, they will both link to the same thing.

Would expect to see;

<td width="263" height="250" rowspan="5" align="center" class="subHeader"><p><a href="outside.pdf"><img src="assetts/menu thumb1.png" alt="" name="outside" width="248" height="176" hspace="0" vspace="30" id="outside" /></a><a href="second.pdf"><img src="assetts/menu thumb2.png" alt="menu2" width="247" height="176" hspace="30" align="top" id="menuinside" /></a></p>

Get into code view you'll quite having these problems.

soundchaseruk
02-17-2010, 02:32 PM
works a treat , many thanks.

Just need to get the coding so I can centralise the Menu and ABout Us pages as I have the index. Can you help with this as well ?
www.goldencrown-chinese.co.uk (http://www.goldencrown-chinese.co.uk)

Corrosive
02-17-2010, 02:40 PM
CSS =

#wrapper {margin: auto; width: whateverpx;}

HTML =

<div id="wrapper">Rest of code goes here</div>

I'm serious about getting out of design view. Oh, and letting Photoshop do your coding for you as well. Really will lead to issues in the future.

soundchaseruk
02-17-2010, 05:18 PM
photoshop does coding ? I usually work with split view but as I am not HTML trained (you can tell !!) I do struggle at times

Thanks

Corrosive
02-17-2010, 05:23 PM
Do you 'save as HTML' in Photoshop? If not, what are those 'spacer gif' images doing in your code?