PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible...


kearnsy
02-16-2010, 03:23 PM
To remove the dotted border when you click on buttons on websites?

i've seen many sites with it, and just wondered what causes it

domedia
02-16-2010, 03:34 PM
To remove the dotted border when you click on buttons on websites? Yes, I believe it's the CSS property 'outline'.

i've seen many sites with it, and just wondered what causes it It's default behavior, all browsers work like that. Not everyone uses the mouse to navigate a web page.

MagicPower
02-16-2010, 03:43 PM
i came across this in ff.

a {
outline: none;
}

Corrosive
02-16-2010, 03:49 PM
Pay particular attention to what Domedia has said here!


Not everyone uses the mouse to navigate a web page.

kearnsy
02-16-2010, 05:39 PM
thanks guys, i've just tried the fix you said on a page i'm working on and it never seemed to work for some reason, no idea why, must be something i'm not doing right.

I'm guessing that it's common practice to leave the border anyway as so many sites seem to keep it?

domedia
02-16-2010, 08:53 PM
I'm guessing that it's common practice to leave the border anyway as so many sites seem to keep it? Yes, it's an important accessibility function. I would just leave it.

kearnsy
02-16-2010, 09:10 PM
ok thanks DM