PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver built sites?

Denny Kyser
02-11-2010, 03:23 PM
I am very new to website building, but after years of using flash sites for my Photography Studio, want to offer a html site too.

Can anyone give me a few links to some great websites built with dreamweaver so I can see what the program is capable of, not that I am but what dreamweaver cs4 can do.

Thanks

gentleone
02-11-2010, 03:44 PM
Dreamweaver on itself is not really capable to build websites. The person that uses it... that's the one who build websites :)

You need to understand basic HTML & CSS. Dreamweaver is a handy tool for the developer... nothing more then that!

Corrosive
02-11-2010, 03:57 PM
Aye, it is like asking us to show you good examples of cabinets built with a particular hammer and chisel. You need to ask about the cabinet maker.

Denny Kyser
02-11-2010, 05:19 PM
I get your point, guess it would have been better to ask what great designers use Dreamweaver as a too.

here is my website, and as you can see its a few flash based templates but not getting me much google response, also very similar to other photographers.
http://www.kyserphoto.com (http://www.kyserphoto.com/)

Corrosive
02-11-2010, 05:26 PM
I suppose the issue is that it is incredibly difficult to tell what tool a designer or developer has used. Afterall HTML and CSS are just that. I guess if you see any DW references in the code then that is a giveaway. You might see something like this if the designer has used templates;

<!-- InstanceBegin template="/Templates/tmu_main.dwt" codeOutsideHTMLIsLocked="false" -->

You've come across one of the drawbacks of a pure flash site. I.e. very little Search Engine food. Have you tried all the Google stuff? Adwords etc?

Corrosive
02-11-2010, 05:31 PM
Why are you asking? Is it to see if DW is worth the investment? It is THE web design tool in the right hands.

Denny Kyser