PDA

View Full Version : Slicing into dreamweaver without Tables

kearnsy
01-31-2010, 09:57 PM
Hi Folks.

Right, let's see where do i start?

I've sliced up all my images in photoshop, ready to be exported into dreamweaver, i've edited the html output settings to generate css instead of tables, but the problem i have is, photoshop puts a table around everything and puts the div tags inside of the table.

i thought, because i've edited the settings to generate css instead of tables, it would generate a container tag instead of a table?

i'm fairly new to web design, so my question is would it be ok for me to remove the table and insert a container div in place of the table, or would that mess things up?

or have i missed something while exporting from photoshop and that's why there is a table?

thanks folks, i look forward to your responses.

domedia
01-31-2010, 10:13 PM
Yes remove the table. Letting PS write your HTML/CSS is usually a bad idea, so you should also be looking into writing your own code.

DWcourse
01-31-2010, 11:24 PM
When you save for web and devices with the settings

Format: HTML and Images
Settings: div

You should get only divs, no tables. However the "wrapper" div may have an id with the word table in it such as <div id="Table_01">.

Unfortunately all the divs will be absolutely positioned which is not much better than using tables. So, like domedia said, exporting HTML from Photoshop is a bad idea no matter how you slice it.

kearnsy
02-01-2010, 12:15 PM
Cheers guys for your responses

As i said i'm fairly new to web design, so i'm trying to learn, sorry, cram as much in as i can.

So what's the best way to go about getting a layout from photoshop into dreamweaver then would you say?

Just out of interest, why is it bad to export slices from PS into DW?

thanks for your help chaps

DWcourse
02-01-2010, 02:26 PM
why is it bad to export slices from PS into DW?