PDA

View Full Version : How to centre image

nippyeyes
01-04-2010, 08:29 PM
I am currently making a portfolio and would like the template i made in photoshop to be in the middle of the page when viewed in a web browser. How would i go about doing this?

Thanks alot

gentleone
01-04-2010, 08:32 PM
search the forum... this question is answered too many times... ah well, check the tab 'Tutorials and Articles'.

nippyeyes
01-04-2010, 08:35 PM
I have but i didn't really understand, i am quite new to dreamweaver and was wondering for a more basic explanation. At the moment i have used <div= align"center"> before <body> and </div> before </body> but this only seems to put it in the middle on the top margin not the left hand margin

gentleone
01-04-2010, 08:42 PM
The following page explains how you center a div horizontally and vertically:
http://www.kirkdesigns.co.uk/vertically-and-horizontally-center-div-using-css

nippyeyes
01-04-2010, 08:47 PM
Thank you that helped, this may sound stupid but where would i use this code in my dreamweaver file.

#outer {<br> position: absolute;<br> top: 50%;<br> left: 0px;<br> width: 100%;<br> height: 1px;<br> overflow: visible;<br>}<br> <br>#inner {<br> width: 300px;<br> height: 200px;<br> margin-left: -150px; /*** width / 2 ***/<br> position: absolute;<br> top: -100px; /*** height / 2 ***/<br> left: 50%;<br>}

gentleone
01-04-2010, 09:07 PM
Okay well... first forget that piece of code above... it does look a bit messy with all those <br> tags (did not saw that in my quick search and find)

Take the following code as reference and place this in your CSS in the <head> or even better in a external stylesheet:
#outer {position:absolute;top:50%;left:0px;width:100%;hei ght:1px;overflow:visible}
#inner {position:absolute;width:950px;height:550px;margin-left:-475px;top:-275px;left:50%}