PDA

View Full Version : Cannot export CSS style sheet (pseudo class)

bolankeith
12-13-2009, 10:06 PM
Hi,
I am relatively new at CSS. I have created a CSS style sheet in DW - CS3.
I have no problem exporting/applying the style sheet to other pages (I have over 300 of them) but today I created a menu bar using a pseudo-class CSS because I wanted it to apply to one specific table on my page. It looked fine.

Problem is when I try to use the same pseudo-class style sheet on any other page it doesnt seem to import. I can open a page and import the main style sheet. Surely enough the main style sheet rules then apply to the page. but when I cut and paste the menu bar (that I created with its own CSS rule) and select it and try to find the new rule in 'table ID' I cannot find it. The menu bar just conforms to the main CSS rule, not my table specific one I created. ..how do I import the table rule and save having to re enter the CSS for this menu bar on each page? Hope that makes sense.

I guess a summary of that question would be: How do you import a table specific CSS rule?

thanks for the help

edbr
12-14-2009, 12:29 AM
use the second menu bar in your css sheet but name the class or id differentlymenu2 for example
it sounds that you have a conflit

bolankeith
12-14-2009, 01:54 AM
Thanks for the reply 'edbr' - I'm not clear on what you mean by 'second menu bar' though. - I'm just learning CSS

I was wondering if instead of attaching the CSS behavior to the main CSS sheet, should I just create a separate CSS sheet (instead of my pseudo sheet)

To clarify my problem - when i go to a new page and import my CSS sheet, the page adopts the new look fine, but when i select a table, and go to 'table ID' and try to load a pseudo class sheet to make the table behave differently from the main CSS, there is no selection available. My saved CSS doesnt show.

rattlsnak
12-14-2009, 01:57 AM