PDA

View Full Version : Drop down menu from Fireworks into dreamweaver


Designer
12-09-2009, 01:38 PM
Hi guys and gals. Sorry for repetition as I have posted this somewhere else also but thought is should go here
Am currently wrestling with the last hurdle in finishing my site I have used images for the top menu and this is fine apart from the fact that 2 of them need drop down menus. I was told by a colleague that you cant do that in dream weaver but it's easy in Fireworks. Ive downloaded a trial version and created the dropdown on the png as per web tutorial, however...Below is the url to what the menu buttons should look like. This is with everything working apart from the dropdown menus

http://www.ralphbeckforddesign.co.uk/etmstest/core_team.html

Below is the url to the same page having introduced the png after building dropdown menu stuff into it with Fireworks.

http://www.ralphbeckforddesign.co.uk/etmstest/core_team_ttt.html

You will note that the menu works fine but it wants to sit underneath as opposed to in the row. I have tried everything I can think of but to no avail - any ideas?
surely it shouldn't be this difficult - all help gratefully received
designer

domedia
12-09-2009, 02:53 PM
If you trust your colleagues by their recommendation to use Fireworks to create a drop down menu, I'd ask them for help.

Personally I would use something like the suckerfish menu which you can find on Google. It requires a basic understand of coding though

rattlsnak
12-16-2009, 05:30 AM
the drop down menus are buildable within DW, no need to use Fireworks.

Designer
12-16-2009, 08:14 PM
Hi Guys, Designer here. Just spent another whole day employing someone to help me with this problem to no avail. I have exported from Fireworks as 'html and images' but cannot find how to import into dreamweaver. The effect you see in the url above is by importing as fireworks html where I want the drop down menu to be, in the line of menu buttons but is smashes the line and sits underneath. I am willing to come at this from a completely different angle if someone can point me in a direction that will work. If I could do it within dream weaver and not fireworks that would be great. However, my menu bar is made of images with rollover stuff already. Anyone that can crack this for me, I will donate to a charity of their choice.
Rattlsnak, could you be my saviour here?
Yours, nearly dead!
Designer

rattlsnak
12-17-2009, 05:52 AM
See if these help, if not Ill dig out my books.. Ive done it , buts its been a long time ago!

http://www.wfu.edu/~matthews/misc/web/navbar/

and Ive also found some material saying you cant do it in CS4, while others say you can. I had DW 8 when I last did it. What version do you have?

edbr
12-17-2009, 06:28 AM
check out cssplay.co.uk , im guessing you will find an example there

Designer
12-24-2009, 05:03 PM
Thanks Guys and oh, by the way, Merry Christmas.
Yes, I am still failing to sort this. Rattlsnak, I read the link you posted, makes it sound easy-ish I am using CS3. Also I have not make my navigation bar with any navigation bar tool, I just lined up some divs with pictures in and applied insert rollover image from the insert menu. So I have now created a navigation bar as described in the Matthews Tutorial, however when I get to the behaviors there is no behavior called 'show pop-up menu'. could this be somewhere else in CS3? So near but so far!!!!!!
Regards Designer

rattlsnak
12-26-2009, 05:52 PM
ok, try this!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CS5GSYU0cEs

let me know!

i dont have CS3, so i couldnt try it, but it looks like what you were looking for maybe?

rattlsnak
12-26-2009, 06:04 PM
here is another using fireworks..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x2DeAfk3WPs
part # 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkgrMabXWbI&feature=related

Designer
12-30-2009, 04:41 PM
Thanks for the above, some useful stuff there but I don't think is answers my problem. I have a new question. Is is possible in CS3 to make a spry navigation bar using your own graphics for buttons? My client loves the lorry buttons so I am stuck with trying to make them work. I have read the relevant chapter in 'CS3 - the missing manual' but it makes no mention of importing your own images into the nav bar. can anyone tell me if it's possible? thanks again for your patients. Regards, Designer

Designer
01-22-2010, 08:36 PM
Hi, just to let you guys know that I found someone who wrote some code for me and my menus now work
thanks for all your efforts
Designer

rattlsnak
01-22-2010, 10:38 PM
well, post the code for us! :)

gentleone
01-23-2010, 09:34 AM
well, post the code for us! :)

If you check out his first link at the beginning of this thread then you can look at the source what's been done with the menu.

Nice peace of javascript :)