PDA

View Full Version : Quote selection


gentleone
11-17-2009, 09:43 AM
I've noticed that it happen quite often when I select a part/sentence of a thread and I use 'quote' to select that specific part it puts the whole thread in between the quote tags.

Is this something that I only experience or does someone else ran into this issue too?

Corrosive
11-17-2009, 12:10 PM
Not something I've noticed before.

gentleone
11-17-2009, 12:20 PM
ah well... maybe it's just me and Safari

Corrosive
11-17-2009, 12:28 PM
Yeah, I was going to suggest it might be browser/OS specific.

domedia
11-17-2009, 03:57 PM
When you click the quote button, it does not invoke any client side stuff though.. it sends it to the server..
gentleone, any chance you might mix up the quote and multi-quote button?

edbr
11-18-2009, 12:50 AM
happens to me xp firefox, always has. i have always hit quote then pasted the section in i selected.

DWcourse
11-18-2009, 01:58 AM
that's how I thought it was supposed to work!

gentleone
11-18-2009, 06:54 AM
any chance you might mix up the quote and multi-quote button?

No, I click on the quote button just like I did with this snippet of your post, but again it puts your whole post in between the quote tags :( I have to delete all the other text to get it like this. In the beginning (when I got here on the forum) it was not like that, so that's why I was wondering. It's not a big issue, but I thought lets report it :)

domedia
11-18-2009, 03:28 PM
If you click the "quote' button of a post, It will quote the whole post.
This is right, and it has always worked like this.

You mentioned the whole 'thread' earlier. It's never put the whole thread into a quote if you click a single post's quote button

If you mean you highlight parts of the text with your cursor, and then click 'quote', thinking the server is going to know which text is highlighted, then no, it has never worked like this :)

gentleone
11-18-2009, 04:22 PM
Domedia, you're right about 'whole thread', but I meant 'whole post'. Sorry for the confusing. Well, than I'm not sure what the 'problem' is either :) because I was definitely sure that it worked for me like that before (highlighting a selection and than 'quote')

Ah well... lets close this thread and lets pretend that this thread was never posted :lol:

domedia
11-18-2009, 05:00 PM
We only close threads when things get out of hand, so you'll have to live with this thread ;-)

Now if we keep posting in this thread, we're bumping it up every time. Can I get anyone a drink? 8)

Corrosive
11-18-2009, 05:11 PM
Now if we keep posting in this thread, we're bumping it up every time. Can I get anyone a drink? 8)

(bump) Mine's a straight, 16 Y/O Lagavulin please.

gentleone
11-18-2009, 05:15 PM
Uhm... Mr. Administrator, can I have more privileges on this forum? :)

domedia
11-18-2009, 05:21 PM
Uhm... Mr. Administrator, can I have more privileges on this forum? :)
No, but I can get you a drink. What do you fancy? :mrgreen:

gentleone
11-18-2009, 05:26 PM
No, but I can get you a drink. What do you fancy? :mrgreen:

But i thought you were fired? :confused:

domedia
11-18-2009, 06:01 PM
But i thought you were fired? :confused:
It ain't over 'til the fat lady sings 8-)

gentleone
11-18-2009, 06:05 PM
well... then it's about time then that you finally get me that beer that I ordered this afternoon :)

gentleone
11-19-2009, 01:07 PM
Now I want seriously more privileges on the forum :evil:

Its now bloody hell the only thread in this forum section :)

Corrosive
11-19-2009, 05:57 PM
Now I want seriously more privileges on the forum :evil:



You wanna spend your days deleting spam? I wouldn't recommend it ;)

gentleone
11-19-2009, 08:00 PM
You wanna spend your days deleting spam? I wouldn't recommend it ;)

No, I just want to close this thread so I can hide the fact that I was in my former life blond :eek:

Corrosive
11-20-2009, 07:14 AM
I'll close it for you.